Your argument is only as strong as the evidence you bring to it.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete features thousands of full-text journals. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
- CQ Researcher
Explores in depth a single "hot" issue in the news each week. All articles include an introduction to the topic, a lengthy overview, background information, the current situation, the outlook, and a pro/con section.
- Ebrary - The Library's largest Ebook collection
Ebrary contains the full text of more than 500,000 nonfiction books, all from academic publishers.
- EBSCO eBook Collection
Search and view eBooks on the EBSCOhost platform
Browse eBooks by subject area and by latest added to your library's collection.
- Films on Demand
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your library research guides, content management systems, online lesson plans, or distance.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Gale Virtual Reference collection includes general reference resources as well as titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and the social sciences. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.
- Healey Library Catalog
JSTOR's (Journal Storage) archives include scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- LexisNexis Academic
Access over 10,000 news, business and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep back files and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news and non-English language sources.
- LexisNexis Congressional (now ProQuest Congressional Publications)
Comprehensive, full-text access to over 200 years worth of detailed information about US Congress, including committee assignments; Congressional hearings (1824 to present); legislation; member biographies; voting records; financial data; and full-text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
- Massachusetts Newstand
Massachusetts Newsstand provides online access to local newspapers. From the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System.
- New York Times
The full text of the New York Times from 1985 to the present
With over 460 reference sources and seamless linking to other library databases, Credo Reference offers Topic Pages on:
(or click on the logo above and use another search term such as "Osama Bin Laden", "Pentagon" or "George W. Bush" etc...)
America between the wars : from 11/9 to 9/11 : the misunderstood years between the fall of the Berlin Wall and the start of the War on Terror / Derek Chollet and James Goldgeier.
Call Number: Main Stacks: E839.5 .C475 2008
When the Berlin Wall collapsed and the Cold War ended on November 9, 1989, the West declared victory: democracy and free markets had prevailed and the United States emerged as the triumphant superpower. The tension that had defined a generation was over, and it seemed that peace was at hand. The next twelve years rolled by in a haze of complacent self-congratulation--what some now call a "holiday from history." When September 11, 2001, set the U.S. on a new path, confused Americans asked: How did we get here? Foreign policy experts Chollet and Goldgeier examine how the decisions and debates of those years shaped the events, arguments, and politics of the world we live in today. This book tells the story of a generation of leaders grappling with a moment of dramatic transformation--changing how we should think about the recent past, and uncovering important lessons for the future.
9/11 and the War on Terror
Call Number: Available online via Ebrary (Access restricted to authorized UMass Boston patrons).
American ground : unbuilding the World Trade Center
Call Number: Main Stacks: HV6432 .L364 2003
At the center of the book is the team of engineers, many of them instrumental in building the towers, who now must collaborate in the sad task of disassembling them. Their responses are as dramatic and unpredictable as the shifting pile of rubble and the surrounding "slurry wall" that constantly threatens to collapse, potentially flooding a large part of underground Manhattan. They are also emotional and territorial, as firemen, police, widows, and officials attempt to claim the tragedy-and the difficult work of extracting the rubble and the thousands of dead buried there-as their own.
9/11 : the culture of commemoration
Call Number: Main Stacks: HV6432.7 .S557 2006
After the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001, a general sense that the world was different—that nothing would ever be the same—settled upon a grieving nation; the events of that day were received as cataclysmic disruptions of an ordered world. Refuting this claim, David Simpson examines the complex and paradoxical character of American public discourse since that September morning, considering the ways the event has been aestheticized, exploited, and appropriated, while “Ground Zero” remains the contested site of an effort at adequate commemoration.
The New York City 9/11 Memorial was dedicated on September 11, 2011 the 10th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks in a ceremony for victims’ families.
The Pentagon Memorial was dedicated on September 11, 2008 on the grounds of the Pentagon reservation in Washingon, D.C.
The Flight 93 Memorial in Shanksville, Pennsylvania.