Skip to main content

MATH 114QR: Quantitative Reasoning

Ask a Librarian

The library staff is here to help you find any book, article or material that you need to succeed with your papers and projects.

Mathematics 114QR: Quantitative Reasoning

This course covers the basic algebra and technological tools used in the social, physical and life sciencesto analyze quantitative information.  The emphasis is on the real world, open-ended problems that involve reading, writing, calculating, synthesizing, and clearly reporting results. Topics include descriptive statistics, linear, and exponential models.  Technology used in the course includes computers, (spreadsheets, Internet) and graphing calculators.


This guide was created to help students in this class access a range of services and resources for academic success.

Statistical Resources

All Subjects

Statistical Abstract of the United States

A good starting off point for locating statistical data. It includes business, crime, economic, education, health, population, science data and more. Much of the data is at a national level, but it also includes some state, city, and international data.

 Most data is available in both Excel and PDF format.

LexisNexis Statistical

LexisNexis Statistical indexes statistics on all subjects, but it is strongest for U.S. government statistics. It links to some data.

Population Statistics

U.S. Census Bureau

The U.S. Census Bureau collects the most detailed information about the U.S. population. It conducts a national census every ten years. Some Census data can be retrieved right down to a city block. In between the decennial censuses it conducts the annual American Community Survey.

Data can be downloaded to a spreadsheet.

U.N. Demographic Yearbook

International in scope - Annual statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce. It also includes data on such special topics such as economic activity educational attainment, and ethnicity.

Click on the Statistics link under the title, Demographic Yearbook. Select the year you wish to view. Many tables are available in both PDF and Excel format.

Health Statistics

Health United States

Published by the U.S. Center for Health Statistics, Health United States reports annually on the health of the U.S population. It covers emerging trends, reports on  diseases,  health behaviors, and health care among different population groups.

Look in the Health, United States left column to find links to Excel tables.

WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)

The World Health Organization's Statistical Information System provides core health statistics for the 193 WHO member states.

You can select health indicators, create your own tables and export (.csv). You can also create charts of your data.

Economic/Business Statistics

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics website has employment, unemployment, employment projections data and more. Select your data and then choose to view it in either comma or tab delimited format to export into a spreadsheet.

Yahoo Finance

Historical Prices: Covers stock prices from 1965 to the present. Select time period and download the statistics to a spreadsheet.

U.S. Census Bureau

The U.S. Census Bureau collects data every five years for the Economic Census.  It also conducts Annual Economic Surveys and a Survey of Business Owners. 

Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900