Skip to main content

Theatre Arts

Search Healey Library Resources and Beyond

Recommended E-book Collections

Electronic books

Full-text electronic books are found in the UMBrella by selecting Filter your results: eBooks under the search box. These collections are recommended:

Healey Library Print Collection

Most books about Theatre Arts can be found under the PN Call Number. These books can be found on the 9th floor of Healey if the catalog location is listed as Main Stacks. Reference works are found in the Reference collection on the 4th floor.

Search the UMBrella by keyword or subject for books on your topic. If there is a specific book that you require, search the catalog by title or author.

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to borrow books currently unavailable in Healey Library's physical or online collections.

For additional help view the tutorial on how to find books, or stop by the 4th floor Reference desk.

Books And Scores: Music

Jelly Roll Morton. Music score for Healey Library has an extensive collection of books about music and scores of musical compositions. Everything in Healey Library's collection can be found by searching the online catalog. Music books can be found under call numbers starting with "M".

UMBrella

Tips for Using the Catalog

To find books about a composer, conductor, musician, etc.
Try a "Subject" search using the person's name, last name first (e.g. "Glass, Philip").

To find books by a composer, conductor, musician, etc.
Try an "Author" search using the person's name, last name first.

To find a score
Try an "Author" search using the composer's name, last name first (the result will be everything by the composer: scores, books, recordings, etc.) OR

Try a "Title" search using the name of the composition, omitting any leading articles (a's and the's; e.g. Art of the Fugue, not The Art of the Fugue). OR

Limit a search to only scores by clicking the Search Limits button in the lower right of the Basic Search page, and selecting "Music Score" from the Item Type box. Then do a "Title" or "Keyword" search (Note: "Author" or "Subject" searches don't work with limits).

To find an audio or video recording
Try limiting a search by clicking the Search Limits button in the lower right of the Basic Search page, and selecting "Sound Recording" or "Videorecording" from the Medium box. Then do a "Title" or "Keyword" search (Note: "Author" or "Subject" searches don't work with limits).

Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900