Here is a sample of some of the print and online reference books available at the Healey Library. More reference works in Law and Legal Research are available in the 4th Floor Reference stacks and through the online reference collections.
Covers all fields of American law - state and federal, civil and criminal, substantive and procedural. It focuses on broad principles of American law and provides a way to find cases on a legal issue.
Black's Law Dictionary
by Bryan A. Garner (Editor)
Call Number: REF KF156 .B53 1999
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
Since Black's Law Dictionary is revised on average only once each decade, the publication of a new edition is a major event. The strong reputation that Black's has attained over the past 108 years positions it as ''the quintessential legal reference tool'' for the 21st century.
The A&C Black Dictionary of Law is designed for anyone who needs to check the meaning or pronunciation of words used in the legal context, and especially for anyone who is not a legal professional or for whom English is an additional language.
This book unique in the literature provides readers with the mathematical background needed to design many of the optical combinations that are used in astronomical telescopes and cameras. The results presented in the work were obtained by using a different approach to third-order aberration theory as well as the extensive use of the software package Mathematica(r). Replete with workout examples and exercises, Geometric Optics is an excellent reference for advanced graduate students, researchers, and practitioners in applied mathematics, engineering, astronomy, and astronomical optics. The work may be used as a supplementary textbook for graduate-level courses in astronomical optics, optical design, optical engineering, programming with Mathematica, or geometric optics.
This 12-volume set provides information on more than 5,000 legal topics in American law. It includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more. Legal issues are fully discussed, including such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and thousands more.