Research Guides: WorldCat at UMass Boston: eBooks

Searching For Ebooks With Worldcat

It can be difficult to connect to eBooks from WorldCat. Here are the steps to access eBooks from WorldCat@UMass-Boston.

1. Search for your title and choose the entry that is listed as eBook.

2. On the left hand side, there's a column with options to limit your search to just UMass Boston Library and eBooks.

3. Once you find the eBook title you're looking for, just click on the View eBook link which will take you directly to the book.

Healey Library's Ebooks

Full-text electronic books are found in UMBrella from the search results page. Select Full Text Online under Availability and Books under Material Type.

These collections are recommended:

APA Books E-Collection This link opens in a new window
APA PsycNET and Ebook-Collections encompass content in psychology and related disciplines (including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, neuroscience, and physiology, among others).
Skillsoft Books (formerly Books 24x7) This link opens in a new window
Books and audiobooks covering business analysis, business skills, engineering, information technology, IT Skills technical and engineering, well-being and more.

If you're using this on a mobile browser, you may need to configure your browser in order to access the book.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Companion series covers the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion, and cultural studies. Each Companion includes essays devoted to a particular person or subject such as Freud, Hemingway, modern Latin American culture, and the African American novel.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
4/3/2024: A workaround is in place to address an ongoing off-campus access issue to Sage databases. If the link fails to function, please close all tabs and clear your cookies and cache. Then click on the link again.

SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. With more than 2,500 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
4/3/2024: A workaround is in place to address an ongoing off-campus access issue to Sage databases. If the link fails to function, please close all tabs and clear your cookies and cache. Then click on the link again.

SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Our SAGE Research Methods access only covers SAGE Research Methods Books & Reference (Core), Cases Part 1, and Datasets Part 1. After you run a search, select the 'Content available to me' option to filter for results with full access.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
SPIE Digital Library contains the world’s largest collection of optics and photonics research with over 380,000 papers from conference proceedings, peer-reviewed journals, and eBooks. Content covers the broadest range of applied optics and photonics science and engineering papers anywhere. SPIE eBooks are not included in the SPIE Digital Library subscription.
Some of the technologies covered are:
Astronomy
Biomedical Optics and Medical Imaging
Defense and Security
Electronic Imaging and Signal Processing
Illumination and Displays
Lasers and Sources
Mathematics
Micro/Nanolithography
Nanotechnology
Optical Design and Engineering
Optoelectronics and Communications
Remote Sensing
Sensing and Measurement
Solar and Alternative Energy
World Bank eLibrary This link opens in a new window
The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 5,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 2,000 World Bank publications and over 3,200 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.