Skip to Main Content

Evidence Based Nursing

Introduction

Unless otherwise noted, the links below will connect UMass Boston users with access to full text.
Clicking on these links will open a new browser window. Close the window to return to this page.

American Journal of Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice Step by Step

This series of articles is a good place to start when thinking about Evidence Based Practice. Arizona State University College of Nursing and Health Innovation's Center for the Advancement of Evidence-Based Practice authored this collection. Articles are in sequence order.

Defining Evidence Based Medicine and Evidence Based Nursing

Sackett DL, et al. Evidence Based Medicine: What It Is and What It Isn't. BMJ 1996; 312: 71-72.
Discusses the origins of Evidence Based Medicine. One of the defining editorials on explaining and fielding questions about Evidence Based Medicine. Free full text via publisher.
Scott, K. & McSherry, R. "Evidence Based Nursing: clarifying the concepts for nurses in practice." Journal of Clinical Nursing 2009; 18(8): 1085-95.

Issues in Evidence Based Nursing

Bakken S, McArthur J. Evidence-based Nursing Practice: A Call to Action for Nursing Informatics. J. Am. Med. Inform. Assoc. 2001; 8(3): 289 - 290.
Free full text via publisher.
DiCenso A, Cullum N, Ciliska D. "Implementing evidence-based nursing: some misconceptions" [editorial]. Evidence-Based Nursing 1998 Apr;1:38-40.
Guyatt GH, Meade MO, Jaeschke RZ, et al. Practitioners of evidence based care. Not all clinicians need to appraise evidence from scratch but all need some skills. BMJ 2000; 320:954-5.
Jennings B.A., & Loan L.A. Misconceptions Among Nurses About Evidence-Based Practice. Journal of Nursing Scholarship 2001; 33(2): 121-7.
Melnyk, B. Evidence-Based Practice: The Past, the Present, and Recommendations for the Millennium. Pediatric Nursing, Jan/Feb 2000, 26 (1), 77 - 80.
Reviews the evolution and the state of evidence-based practice (EBP) in the United States. Factors to be considered in practicing evidence-based nursing; Recommendations for implementing and advancing EBP; Strategies for implementing EBP; Conclusions.
Shorten A, Wallace MC, Crookes PA. Developing information literacy: a key to evidence-based nursing. Int Nurs Rev. 2001 Jun;48(2):86-92.

Asking the Well-Built Question

Selecting Resources and Conducting the Search

Cullum N. Users' guides to the nursing literature: an introduction. Evidence-Based Nursing July 1, 2000; 3(3): 71 - 72
Free full text via publisher.
Hunt DL, Jaeschke R, McKibbon, KA, and for the Evidence-Based Medicine Working Group. Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: XXI. Using Electronic Health Information Resources in Evidence-Based Practice. JAMA, April 12, 2000; 283(14): 1875 - 1879.
Free full text via publisher.
McKibbon KA, Marks S. Searching for the best evidence. Part 1: where to look [editorial]. Evidence-Based Nursing 1998 Jul;1:68-70.
Free full text via publisher.
McKibbon KA, Marks S. Searching for the best evidence. Part 2: searching CINAHL and Medline [editorial]. Evidence-Based Nursing 1998 Oct;1:105-7.
Free full text via publisher.
Ploeg J. Identifying the best research design to fit the question. Part 2: qualitative designs [editorial]. Evidence-Based Nursing 1999 Apr;2(2):36-7.
Free full text via publisher.
Roberts J, Dicenso A. Identifying the best research design to fit the question. Part 1: quantitative designs. Evidence-Based Nursing January 1, 1999; 2(1): 4 - 6.
Free full text via publisher.

Critical Appraisal/Evaluation of the Literature

Ciliska D, Cullum N, Marks S. Evaluation of systematic reviews of treatment or prevention interventions [Editorial]. Evidence-Based Nursing 2001 4: 100-104.
Free full text via publisher.
Cullum N. Evaluation of studies of treatment or prevention interventions [editorial]. Evidence-Based Nursing 2000;3:100-2.
Free full text via publisher.
Cullum N. Evaluation of studies of treatment or prevention interventions. Part 2: applying the results of studies to your patients [editorial]. Evidence-Based Nursing 2001;4:7-8.
Free full text via publisher.
Jull A. Evaluation of studies of assessment and screening tools, and diagnostic tests. Evidence-Based Nursing 2002 5: 68-72.
Free full text via publisher.
Russell C, Gregory D. Evaluation of qualitative research studies. Evidence-Based Nursing 2003 6: 36-40.
Free full text via publisher. Web-only References: http://ebn.bmjjournals.com/cgi/content/full/6/2/36/DC1

Using Research in Practice

Teaching Evidence Based Nursing

Last Updated: Apr 1, 2024 3:02 PM
URL: https://umb.libguides.com/EBN
Print Page

Subjects: Health Sciences, Nursing

Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900