Skip to main content

HIST 211: Foundations of Western Civilization - Brink: Databases & More

Library Databases

Frequently referred to as the invisible / deep web -- as opposed to the free web (think Google, Yahoo, Dogpile, etc), Healey Library's proprietary databases provide highly selective coverage of periodical literature, government publications, handbooks, etc.

▪ Healey Library spends over $1.5 million/year to offer these databases to UMB students and faculty.

▪ Click here for a complete list of the library's subscription databases & indexes.

▪ If you are searching from off-campus, you will be prompted for your last name and Healey Library barcode number.

Library Databases

Small sampling of Healey Library databases relevant to your Hist 211 research tasks 

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE & ACADEMIC ONEFILE

  • Good starting points for many topics;
  • Both are large databases covering scholarly journals, newspapers, and popular magazines in all subject areas;
  • Main coverage is of recent publications (last 10-20 years);
  • Many of the resources are available full text in both PDF and HTML formats.

BIOGRAPHY IN CONTEXT

  • Nearly a million biographical entries - covering more than 525,000 individuals - from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas;
  • Search by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, gender birth/death year, and/or birth/death place;
  • Includes lengthy biographies and brief biographical sketches from respected reference sources and newspaper and magazine articles.

HISTORICAL ABSTRACTS

  • Covers history of the world (excluding the US and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward;
  • Including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more;
  • Scholarly sources. 

JSTOR

  • Full text,scholarly journals dating back to the 19th century

WORLD HISTORY IN VIDEO

  • Wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow for exploration of human history from earliest civilizations to late twentieth century;
  • Covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. 

Beyond The Library


Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900