Skip to main content

Selected Resources Documenting the History of Bicycling

Bicycling History Collections at UMass Boston

In the 1890s, Boston and Massachusetts had the largest per capita membership of women and men in the League of American Wheelmen. It is fitting, then, that UMass Boston is fast becoming a research destination for Boston-area, New England, and national bicycling history. As of spring 2018, we hold nearly forty collections of cyclists' photographs, letters, publications, and scrapbooks, as well as the records of the League of American Wheelmen (now the League of American Bicyclists); proceedings of the International Cycling History Conferences; and runs of The Wheelwoman, The Wheelmen magazine and other bicycling publications. UMass Boston is particularly interested in collecting materials from and about cycling communities of color, women, and movements for cycling justice. 

Browse and search finding aids for our processed Archival and Manuscript Collections related to bicycling history below.

Contact us at library.archives@umb.edu for research assistance.

Browse bicycling-related articles on our online newsletter, Open Archives NewsSubscribe to our newsletter here to receive notifications of newly-processed collections. Contact us at library.archives@umb.edu if you have bicycling history-related collections that you would like to donate to us.

Learn about the differences between primary and secondary sources here.

Archival and Manuscript Collections

American Youth Hostel records, 1874-2012, bulk 1936-2007

Andi Genser AIDS bicycle rides collection, 2005-2010

Bicycle Network: Network News publication, 1981-1999

Boston Area Bicycle Coalition, 1971-2010, bulk 1976-1998

Cathy Buckley papers, 1973-2007

Chet Johnson bicycling collection, 1965

Fred St. Onge scrapbooks, circa 1896-1922

Hub Cycle and Radio Company 45th Anniversary Scrapbook, 1897-1942

League of American Bicyclists records, 1880-1999, bulk 1965-1996

Michael Hanauer: Charles River Wheelmen collection 1980-2012, bulk 1980-1990

Minuteman Commuter Bikeway publications, 1993-1994

Nelson Dionne collection, 1900-2009

Phyllis Harmon: League of American Wheelmen (LAW) collection, 1880-2006, bulk 1965-1999

Ralph Galen papers, 1959-2012

Stuart Bradford Nova Scotia Bicycling Tour collection, 1969

The Wheelmen publication, 1970-2015

Explore all of our archival and manuscript collections that document the history of bicycling. To search by keyword within a finding aid, enter a subject term (like "mountain biking" or "rides") into the search bar at the top of the page and click "Search." To view highlighted keywords that you have searched for within an individual finding aid, click the "Text" tab at the top of that finding aid's page. Use the blue up and down arrows to move between instances of the keyword in the text view.

To access collections held outside of UMass Boston, search ArchiveGridWorldCat, and the Digital Public Library of America. Search for "bicycling" and related keywords. 

Books

Search the Healey Library's catalog for books about bicycling. Also try searching for related keywords like "bicycle," "bicyclist," and "cycling."

Journals

American Historical Review

American Quarterly

Journal of American History

Journal of Contemporary History

Journal of Interdisciplinary History

Search these journals for "bicycling" and related keywords. Search and browse all of the Healey Library's ejournals. Click "Ejournals" under the "E-Resources" section.

Journal Databases

Search and browse all of the Healey Library's Database List.

Newspapers

Search and browse all of the Healey Library's newspaper databases.

Scholarly Works

Videos

Search these video databases for "bicycling" and related keywords.

Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900