Skip to main content

Zotero

Tags and Collections

There are two ways to organize the articles in your Zotero library: tags and collections.

Tags provide a very flexible way to organize your collected articles.

You can use either Zotero Standalone or log into your library from the website to search for and retrieve items using tags.

Use Zotero Standalone to manually add tags to items in your library:

Collections and sub-collections are another option for organizing your collected items in your Zotero library.

Click the New Collection option in the upper left corner, enter a folder name, and then drag and drop relevant articles into the collection. One article can be put in multiple collections. Any collection can be dragged onto an existing collection to create a sub-collection. Sub-collections can have sub-collections.

Notes and Timelines

You can add notes to your Zotero library. You can do this by clicking New Note within Zotero. You have the ability to:

  • Add standalone notes
  • Add notes to specific items in your library
  • Search within notes
  • Tag and relate notes to other items

 

Duplicates

It is important to keep only one instance of an article in your Zotero library. Multiple instances of the same article can be confusing when you are citing while writing. It is a good idea to check your library for duplicates before you start to write a new document.

  • Click on Tools / Check for Duplicates
  • Review duplicates that are found
  • If they are true duplicates, delete one or merge the records

Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900