Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Your Library Network of Scholarly Resources: Intellectual Conversations, New Knowledge


Addiction & Recovery  Tags: health psychology  

A Collection of Alcohol and Other Drug Resources
Last update: Oct 22nd, 2009 URL: http://umb.libguides.com/recovery  Print Guide

Scholarly Resources             Print Page
  

Addiction Research

  • Alcohol, Other Drugs, and Health: Current Evidence  
      
    Alcohol, Other Drugs, and Health: Current Evidence is a free online newsletter that summarizes the latest clinically relevant research on alcohol, illicit drugs, and health.
  • Harvard School of Public Health  
      
    Department of Health and Social Behavior
  • NIDA Addiction Science & Clinical Practice  
      
    NIDA's innovative, peer-reviewed journal for drug abuse researchers and treatment providers.
  • NIDA Notes  
      
    NIDA Notes covers drug abuse research in the areas of treatment and prevention, epidemiology, neuroscience, behavioral science, health services, and AIDS.
  • The Brief Addiction Science Information Source (BASIS)  
      
    The mission of the BASIS is to strengthen worldwide understanding of addiction and minimize its harmful effects.
  • The Science of Addiction  
      
    Drugs, Brains, and Behavior: The Science of Addiction explains in plain language what scientists know about how drug addiction alters the brain and affects behavior.
  • Monitoring the Future  
      
    Monitoring the Future is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults.

Professional Education

 

Social Science Databases

PsycARTICLES

  • From the American Psychological Association (APA)
  • Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology
  • Coverage from 1894 to present

PsycInfo

  • Main research database in the field of psychology
  • Includes journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations on psychology topics
  • Literature published from 1887 to the present

SocINDEX with Full Text

  • A comprehensive sociology research database which contains journals, books, conference papers and other resources
  • Covers sociology in general and its many subdisciplines, such as ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, social psychology, substance abuse, violence, welfare, and many others.
  • Provides full text to 313 journals dating as far back as 1895, 545 books and monographs, and 6,711 conference papers
 

Health Databases

CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health Literature)

  • The authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
  • Indexes and abstracts journals, health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, and more.

Health Reference Center

  • Indexes medical, nutrition, and public health periodicals and health related reference materials.
  • It includes a mixture of scholarly and popular publications and has some full-text materials.

PubMed (with links to UMass Boston holdings)

  • PubMed with links to UMass Boston holdings provides direct links to online articles available through Healey Library.
  • Click on the UMB Online icon in the Abstract or Abstract Plus display options to access the online articles.

PubMed

  • Provides access to the National Library of Medicine's medical database, Medline, and to references which are not yet included in the Medline database.
  • Medline covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. It attempts to be comprehensive for the medical field and includes medical journals, books; conference proceedings etc.
  • PubMed provides both online training with its online animated tutorialsand in depth help pages.
    • The Understanding Your Search Results help page includes the Anatomy of the Search Results Page which labels the different segments on the results page. Here you will find how to decode the icons on the left of the search results page that indicate whether an article has an abstract or not and whether free full text is available directly from PubMed.
 

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile

  • Contains scholarly journals, popular interest magazines and reference sources
  • Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology
  • Provides full text coverage to the New York Times from 1995 to the present.

Academic Search Premier

  • Multidisciplinary database, containing over 3000 journal titles ranging from academic to popular.
  • Includes many articles in full text.

JSTOR

  • Full text Scholarly journals dating back to the 19th century
  • Covers Health Policy, Psychology, Sociology, and more

Project MUSE

  • Current scholarly journals from 1993 to present; all full text
  • Covers Medicine and Health, Psychology and Psychiatry, and more

Web of Knowledge

  • A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences
  • Covers Psychology, Psychiatry, Social Work and more
  • Current information and retrospective data from 1956
 

Getting an Article

While some databases include the full text of their articles, others only give citations for articles. Sometimes citations will include a link or icon entitled "Article Linker," which will link you to the full text of the article. If you cannot find the full text in the database or through the Article Linker, you will need to use the information in the citation to track down a copy.

  • First check eJournals to see if Healey Library has an online copy of the journal.
  • Next, check the Healey Catalog to see if the library has the journal in print or microfilm.
  • Finally, you can request a copy of the article using Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
  • To learn how to use the ILL system, view the there is a tutorial located here.
  • To view a multi-media tutorial on finding an article, go here.
 

Scholarly Journals

See eJournals for a complete list.

 

 

UMB logo

Joseph P. Healey Library
University of Massachusetts Boston
100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900

Description

  Loading content... please wait