Library Resources
Text Version of Flash Mindmap
Counseling and School Pyschology
Research Basics
WorldCat
The WorldCat database is a huge combined catalog of library resources in the U.S. and around the world. It contains more than 43 million records. It includes books, DVDs, journals, visual materials, musical scores - anything that a library has added to its catalog.
To access WorldCat, click here http://www.umassboston.worldcat.org/
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile [TM] indexes and abstracts articles from a broad array of scholarly journals, popular magazines and reference sources. Almost 13,000 journals are indexed including 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 are full-text. Additionally, there is full text coverage of the New York Times from 1995 to the present.
To access Academic OneFile, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mlin_b_umass?db=AONE
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is the general purpose, multidisciplinary workhorse database for undergraduate research papers. Academic Search Premier's indexed content is superb, it is easy to use, and there are a number of special features.
To access Academic Search Premier, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
Google Books
Google Books indexes millions of books from the library collections of research institutions like Harvard University, Oxford University, the New York Public Library and many others. No other resource offers the same depth of word level indexing as Google Books. That word level indexing makes it a cinch to search for your terms within a book and figure out if it's the book for you.
To access Google Books, click here http://books.google.com/
Research in Depth
PsycINFO
Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO is the major research database in the field of psychology. It covers all areas of psychology as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
To access PsycINFO, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh
ERIC
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a digital library of education research materials sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. It indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, conference papers, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
To access ERIC, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=eric
Education
Educator’s Reference Complete
Educator's Reference Complete covers all levels of education and concentrates on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. It contains academic journal articles, reports, and reference works with many available in full text.
To access Educator's Reference Complete, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/mlin_b_umass?db=PROF
Educator’s Reference Desk
The Educator's Reference Desk, a service of the Information Institute of Syracuse, has three components: Resource Guides which link to web sites about education; Lesson Plans which are searchable by subject and grade level, and an Archive of AskERIC questions and answers.
To access Educator's Reference Desk, click here http://www.eduref.org/
ProQuest Education Journals
ProQuest Education Journals covers primary, secondary and higher education from 1991 to the present. Includes over 700 journals are indexed including children's magazines, scholarly journals and trade publications.
To access ProQuest Education Journals, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=U01EPTEmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTFDNUU@&clientId=46815
Psychology
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a definitive source of searchable full text articles on all aspects of psychology including general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology.
To access PsycArticles, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=pdh
Testing
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Contains information about and fulltext reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology and related areas. It is based on the print versions of the Buros Institute's Mental Measurements Yearbooks.
The Healey Library has a single-user license for this product. If someone else is using the database, you will not be able to access it.
To access Mental Measurements Yearbook, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=loh
Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
Tests in Print is directly linked to the critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series.
To access Tests in Print, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=lph
Government Research
USASearch.gov
To access USASearch.gov, click here http://usasearch.gov/
Science.gov
To access Science.gov, click here http://www.science.gov/
National Library of Medicine MEDLINE
Created by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.
To access MEDLINE, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.asp?profile=ehost&defaultdb=cmedm
Related Fields
ISI Web of Knowledge
The ISI Web of Knowledge portal provides access to two databases, the Web of Science and Medline. With Web of Knowledge, you can find current and retrospective science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 13,000 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
To access ISI Web of Knowledge, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://isiknowledge.com/
Science Direct
ScienceDirect provides full text online access to over 900 Elsevier journals to which Healey Library subscribes. This set of journals is a key component of Healey Library's online scholarly journal collection.
To access Science Direct, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/
JSTOR
JSTOR's (Journal Storage) archives include scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All full text.
To access JSTOR, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
To access Google Scholar, click here http://scholar.google.com/
Tools for Scholars
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts indexes and abstracts dissertations from North American and European universities dating back to 1861. Masters theses have been included since 1988. The UMass Boston subscription does not include full text access to the dissertations.
To access Dissertation Abstracts, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://firstsearch.oclc.org/dbname=Dissertations;done=http://www.lib.umb.edu/;FSIP
Funding and Networking
Community of Science COS
COS Funding Opportunities provides current information on grants offered by a wide variety of funding sources from all over the world, including federal and regional governments, foundations, professional societies, associations, and corporations. The database's name is misleading. Although the database's strength is in the sciences, it does cover the humanities and social sciences as well. This database serves faculty, staff, and doctoral student researchers.
To access COS, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://fundingopps2.cos.com
Grant Advisor Plus
The Grant Advisor Plus provides current information on grants and fellowship opportunities available to U.S. higher education institutions and faculty.
To access Grant Advisor Plus, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://www.grantadvisor.com/tgaplus/
Grants.gov
To access Grants.gov, click here http://grants.gov/
Sponsored Program Information Network SPIN
SPIN, the Sponsored Programs Information Network, provides up-to-date information on current federal, non-federal, and international funding opportunities.
To access SPIN, click here http://ezproxy.lib.umb.edu/login?url=http://www.infoed.org/new_spin/spinmain.asp
GrantsNet
GrantsNet provides information on funding opportunities for training in the biological and medical sciences (a free service provided by the American Association for the Advancement of Science). It contains programs that offer training and research funding for graduate and medical students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty, as well as programs in science, math, engineering, and technology for undergraduate faculty and students.
To access GrantsNet, click here http://sciencecareers.sciencemag.org/funding?CFID=633283&CFTOKEN=27347281
Citation Managers
RefWorks
With RefWorks you can create a database of resources for your research projects, write notes about the articles, books, websites you read (think online notecards),insert references into your paper,create a formatted paper or bibliography using the style of your choice (APA, MLA, and many more) in seconds
To access RefWorks, click here http://www.refworks.com/refworks
Zotero
Zotero is a Firefox browser extension that lets you collect, manage, and cite a multitude of resources while surfing the Internet. Zotero "senses" citation information available in a website, PDF, book, article, or other web object, and allows you to save this information with one quick click.
To access Zotero, click here http://www.zotero.org/
Browser Add-ons
LibX Toolbar
LibX UMB Healey Toolbar is a Firefox extension that provides direct access to Healey Library materials including eJournals, selected databases and the catalog. A Internet Explorer version of the toolbar is available as well.
To access LibX, click here http://libx.org/editions/download.php?edition=C88A85C8
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait