Ask a Librarian
The library staff is here to help you find any book, article or material that you need to succeed with your papers and projects. Please contact us with your questions:
Recommended Library Resources
New Reference Sources from Sage
Encyclopedia of Community
The Encyclopedia of Community is a major four volume reference work comprising of over five hundred detailed articles, that seeks to provide a comprehensive exploration of one of the most widely researched topics in the behavioural and social sciences. Community itself is a concept, an experience, and a central part of being human. This pioneering major reference work seeks to provide the necessary definitions of community far beyond the traditional views. Arranged in an A-to-Z fashion, the Encyclopedia can also be viewed topically via a Reader's Guide. This allows for interdisciplinary "compare and contrast" among topics such as types of communities, social capital, technology, urban life, politics and law, community design, and global studies. Historical perspectives, contemporary analyses and communities of the future are all featured in this truly comprehensive Encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
The Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America is a unique reference book that will provide users with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Since many themes and issues are similar in the three nations, entries will provide comparative information about common as well as distinctive concerns and developments. Significant events, influential persons, legislation, social problems, and societal responses are described in detail. Editors include specialists in the social welfare history of each nation, and they have collaborated with scholars from a variety of academic disciplines to prepare entries of varying length addressing these issues. Included in each entry are suggestions for further reading that will guide readers to the rich resources available for learning about the history of North American social welfare. The encyclopedia also provides cross-references for important topics. This volume will be a unique reference tool for students at all levels, for teachers, and for libraries serving anyone with an interest in the history of North American social welfare.