This is the "Library Basics" page of the "Library Basics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Basics  

Last Updated: Jul 8, 2014 URL: http://umb.libguides.com/librarybasics Print Guide Email Alerts
Library Basics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Barcode

The library barcode is different from your UMS/Student ID number.

In order to access Healey Library's subscription databases (Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, JSTOR, Mergent Online, Wall Street Journal and many more) you need a library barcode.

 

Library Directory

2nd Floor - MAIN ENTRANCE

3rd Floor

4th Floor

5th Floor

6th Floor

  • Quiet Study Floor
  • Main Stacks: PT - Z
  • Oversize Collection
  • Periodical Backfiles: A - HJ
  • Spanish Resource Center
  • Rest Rooms
  • 2 Photocopy Machines

7th Floor

  • Periodical Backfiles: HM - Z

8th Floor

  • Main Stacks: A - KE
  • Group Study Rooms
  • Study Area
  • Rest Rooms

9th Floor

  • Main Stacks: KF - PS
 

Getting A Library Barcode

Library Barcode

Before you can check out books or gain access to most library resources and services, you'll need a library barcode. Your UMB ID card becomes your Healey Library card by having the library barcode placed on the back of your ID.

No Barcode? Stop at the Library's Circulation Desk - 2nd floor catwalk level - main lobby

Online students may call 617.287.5900 or email library.circulation@umb.edu to be assigned a barcode. 

Forgot your Barcode? Use the Barcode Recovery Tool.

 

Finding an Article

To find articles on a variety of topics, use the library's subscription databases. Follow these steps to search Academic Search Complete, a multidisciplinary database:

  1. From Healey Library Homepage, click Databases & Indexes from the left menu.
  2. Then select Academic Search Complete
  3. Enter your library barcode.
  4. Type in the subject, keyword or phrase that you want
    • For example: for articles about child abuse, type “child abuse” in the search box. Quotation marks around a phrase will search for that exact phrase.
  5. If you need peer-reviewed articles, check the box for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
 

Getting an Article

While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include a link to the full text which will take you to the complete article. For help getting an article, follow these steps:

    • Check if the library has a subscription to the journal through ejournals.

    For detailed instructions and a tutorial, see Find full text.

       

      Locating A Book

      The catalog record for a book lists a location; usually in the Main Stacks -- Main Stacks are on the 6th, 8th & 9th floors of the library.

      The catalog record also gives a call number, a collection of letters and number that uniquely identifies its location in the library. Healey Library uses the U.S. Library of Congress Classification (LCC) system to assign call numbers.

      A typical call number looks like this: QD934.C49C7. All the books in the library are arranged on the shelves by their call numbers. The initial letters in the call number indicate which floor to look on, and the rest will help you narrow down the exact shelf location to find the book.

      • A-KE: Floor 8
      • KF-PS: Floor 9
      • PT-Z: Floor 6

      Need more information about call numbers and how they work? See the Research Basics Tutorial.

       

      Checking Out A Book

      To check out a book, take it and your barcoded UMB ID to the circulation desk on the 2nd floor of the library. Undergraduates may keep books out for 30 days, with up to four 30-day renewals. You can renew books online through the library catalog's My Account.

      Reference books (found on the 4th floor of the library, and marked "Ref") may not be checked out, and most reserve material must be used in the library, too.

       

      Boston Library Consortium (BLC) Card

      Current UMB faculty, staff and students, whose library records are in good standing, are eligible for a BLC card. The BLC card allows you to borrow materials from the libraries in the Boston Library Consortium when you physically visit those libraries. 


      Fill out a BLC application form at the Circulation Desk, 2nd floor library lobby.


      Using a BLC card

      • Register at the participating library's circulation desk.
      • Borrowing privileges and expiration dates vary at each institution. Check the policies of individual libraries.
      • BLC cards issued to faculty and staff are valid for a full academic year (Sept 1 - Aug 31)
      • BLC Cards issued to students expire at the end of each semester, but may be renewed at the beginning of each semester.
      • UMB patrons are responsible for all fines/fees charged to their BLC card.
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip