Research Guides: ebooks and ereaders: Home

Healey Library Ebook Collections

For most databases, you will need to download Adobe Digital Editions to view the ebook on a computer or to download the ebook to your mobile device after saving to your computer.
For the iPad, download the free app BlueFire Reader to use in Ebook Central.
EBSCO eBook Collection has it's own app for downloading titles, additional information and instructions is available at Libguide EBSCO eBooks: Mobile App
The majority of the ebook collections only offer PDF or individual chapter downloading.
The older versions of Kindle are not supported by Ebook Central, ebook downloads for chapters or page ranges are only available in PDF.
Kindle Fire is now supported by Ebook Central by following these steps.
Ebook Central and EBSCO eBook Collection require creating a user account to save annotations and highlighting from individual titles.
Transferring a downloaded ebook to an iOS device from your desktop is fast and easy. When Adobe Digital Editions opens, plug mobile device to computer via USB drive. Once the device is recognized by Adobe, just drag and drop the ebook to the mobile device.

Download options: PDF, EPUB, full-text ebook
Printing: PDF of chapters and page ranges varies according to title
Software needed: Adobe Digital Editions, BlueFire Reader app for the iPad
Full-text ebooks available in all devices except for older versions of the Kindle
Create a user account
Maximum of ten ebooks per patron.
Ebook Central Help
Instructions to downloading Ebook Central ebooks
Viewing an Ebook Central document with the Kindle Fire

Download options: PDF, EPUB, full-text ebook
Printing: PDF of chapters and page ranges varies according to title
Software needed: Adobe Digital Editions, EBSCO eBooks app is available for iOS and Android devices.
Create a user account
EBSCO eBooks Mobile app - Quick Start User Guide