Skip to Main Content

Databases & Indexes

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Announcements

The Healey Library building is open. Many services are also still being offered remotely.

CURBSIDE PICKUP: To request a book or DVD from library’s collection for curbside pickup, please sign into UMBrella directly, search for a title, open the item's record, and click ‘REQUEST OPTIONS: Place Hold for Pickup’ link.

Curbside pickup services are currently available by appointment Monday through Saturday at the ISC drop-off area. When an item is ready, patrons will receive an email including the details for booking curbside appointments. Please note that library curbside services are unavailable on days the campus is closed, including holidays, periods in which the campus is operating remotely, and inclement weather closures. See a map of the curbside location or an interactive campus map.

LIBRARY REQUESTS: Use the Healey Library Requests Form to request items for purchase, course reserves, or digitization.

Popular Databases

Great starting points for multiple subject areas.

New/Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases have recently been added to the library.
Through AM Explorer, you can now search millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries, including a wealth of new content added every year. Themes include Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.

Please provide feedback on this trial resource! Trial ends 12/26/2022.
  • Open Access
New
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.
New
The database is a collection of treatises on art and architecture from the period 1470 to 1775. It is structured around the two Italian editions of Giogio Vasari's Lives of the Artists.
New
Britannica Moderna is the Spanish-language comprehensive encyclopedia with thousands of articles on a wide range of topics. Discover encyclopedic articles, multimedia resources and other reference materials for your research.
New
Psychiatry Online provides access to the DSM Library, which includes the current DSM-5 Clinical Cases and previous editions of the DSM. It also contains textbooks, reference books, peer-reviewed journals and Psychiatry News. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. This database is published by the American Psychiatric Association.
New
Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more.
New
Has interactive 3D models to deliver a virtual laboratory simulation experience for students to explore and experiment with complex scientific topics. Its interface facilitates in-depth learning through simulations and virtual science experiments to examine complex systems, such as movement in the solar system, Earth’s weather patterns, biology concepts, growth of organisms, basic engineering practices, the water cycle, and frog dissection.
New
The Health Poll database is the most comprehensive database for health-related U.S. public opinion survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Check out the "Explore Health Topic Relationships" section, which shows concepts in health and health policy while demonstrating the interconnectedness of different health issues.
  • Open Access
New
LILACS: A comprehensive database of Latin American & Caribbean Health Sciences Literature, with more than 880 thousand records of peer reviewed journals, thesis and dissertations, government documents, annals of congresses and books, published since 1982. Includes systematic reviews, randomized controlled clinical trials, evidence synthesis, health technology evaluation studies, economic evaluation studies, clinical practice guidelines, technical reports, case reports and others.
  • Access is limited to users with a UMass Boston email and password
New
This subscription allows you to simply go to nytimes.com and log in using an individual account. You can also use that account to access the New York Times app.

How to get an account: 1. Go to accessnyt.com 2. Search for and click the listing for “University of Massachusetts”. 3. Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus. 4. Attention Chrome users! You will get a security warning. Please go ahead and click ignore!

Important note: If you already have an nytimes.com account, you will need to log out of your personal accounts (if registered to a non-UMB email address) or cancel your subscriptions (if registered to a UMB email) before authenticating through the library's subscription.
New
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to 20,000 academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
New
PressReader provides access to over 7,000 full-color, full-page newspapers and magazines from over 120 countries. You can discover the content by publication name, country, genre or language, and download the full issues for offline reading.

Other than browsing the content online in the PressReader website, you may also download the PressReader app from the App Store or Play Store. Click Sign In > Libraries & Groups > Search for University of Massachusetts Boston and be prompted to log in with your UMB login and password. If you get an error, wait 5 minutes and try again. There is currently an issue where it sometimes connects only on the second sign-in attempt
ProQuest Black Studies combines primary and secondary sources, including leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents and collections, key government materials, videos, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, scholarly journals, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies. The database also include easy-to-use functionality such as timelines, topic pages, and collection pages that will allow researchers to easily navigate the database in order to find the sources they need.

Please provide feedback on this trial resource! Trial ends 1/18/2023
New
Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.
  • Open Access
New
The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today's vibrant, continually unfolding actions. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.
New
Transparent Language Online provides an effective and engaging experience for language learners looking to build their vocabulary, practice their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills, and maintain what they learn. With courses and supplemental resources in 110+ languages, Transparent Language Online can be accessed anytime, anywhere, on almost any device.

You have to create an account. If you're creating the account while off-campus,use this link to create the account. Once you're set up, go back to database URL and log in.
New
The University Press Library on degruyter.com. Unlimited access to the 2020-present digital output of six university presses: Columbia, Cornell, Harvard, Hawaii, Princeton, U. of California, and Yale. There are zero DRM restrictions. The collections include all monographs, dissertations, and academic textbooks in more than 70 subject areas in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Loading...
title
Loading...
Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900