Skip to Main Content

Databases & Indexes

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Announcements

Starting in January 2024, our library's online resources will now be accessed exclusively through OpenAthens, which has been running side by side with EZproxy for the last 1.5 years. Ezproxy will no longer be available. Please update bookmarks, saved links, and reading list links, and refer to the “Remote Access to Library Resources via OpenAthens Guide” for more details.

LIBRARY REQUESTS: Use the Healey Library Requests Form to request items for purchase, course reserves, or digitization.

Popular Databases

Great starting points for multiple subject areas.

New/Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases have recently been added to the library.
Brill Climate Change and Law Collection This link opens in a new window
New
This comprehensive collection of climate change and law documents contains original source, non-edited and non-redacted “grey literature” (non-peer reviewed) in English; originating from a wide range of organizations in the public and private sector, institutions, and/or individuals, world-wide; and centered on climate change and the law.
Covidence This link opens in a new window
  • Access is limited to users with a UMass Boston email and password
New
You will need a personal account.
1. Go to self-signup page to request an invitation. Be sure to use your @umb.edu email.
2. This triggers an invitation to automatically be sent to your email. Be sure to accept the invitation.

A web-based software that streamlines literature and systematic reviews. It helps with the heavy lifting that comes with importing citations to facilitating the screening of abstracts and full text - populating risk of bias tables, extracting data, and exporting.
DBpia This link opens in a new window
A full text database of 4000+ academic periodicals published by major Korean academic societies and research institutes. While many titles and abstracts are in English, the articles are in Korean. Please provide feedback on this trial resource! Trial ends 3/8/2024.
EAI Educational Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
New
Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) is a nonprofit arts organization that is a leading international resource for video and media art. One of the most comprehensive video art collections in the world, the database has a collection of over 4,000 new and historical video works by artists and spans the mid-1960s to the present.
Education Week This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Edweek
Education Week focuses on K-12 news and education policy. In addition to news articles, analyses, and opinion pieces, this premium subscription includes annual special reports on hot topics, state highlight reports that assess and compare performance in key areas by state, photos and videos from classrooms and school communities, and content from the EdWeek Research Center.
EThOs: e-theses online service This link opens in a new window
  • Open Access
  • Temporary access issue, we are working to correct it
New
There is a major, ongoing outage on this website and other British Library online services. Check the British Library blog for any updates..

Search over 600,000 doctoral theses. EThOs is a British Library digital repository for UK research theses. Immediate access to most of the theses if you limit the search to "Limit search to items available for immediate download" and select the "access from institution" link from the record. There are some theses that require that you create a free account first.
Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new window
New
From feast to famine, explore primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production. Material has been sourced from institutions across the United States, the United Kingdom and Australia with a focus on gaining as global a view on food history as possible.
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America This link opens in a new window
New
Documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche. Documents in this resource date from 1887 to 2014, with the bulk of the material dating from 1900 to 2000.
KRpia This link opens in a new window
A full text database covering Korean studies content – history, literature, art, philosophy, social science, natural science, and culture. Includes primary source content. Content is in Korean. Please provide feedback on this trial resource! Trial ends 3/8/2024.
New
The History Vault provides primary source materials from digitized archival collections, particularly those from the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th century. Content include internal memos, legal briefings, government records, organizational records, personal papers, and subject files.

The Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century modules offer unique documentation and a variety of perspectives on the 20th-century fight for freedom.

The NAACP Papers charts the NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. The NAACP Papers, with a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, document the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.
TAIR: The Arabidopsis Information Resource This link opens in a new window
New
Genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . Data includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
New
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included. Find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Loading...
title
Loading...
Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900