Research Guides: Chemistry: Encyclopedias, etc

Chemistry Encyclopedias, etc

Here is a small sampling of electronic reference works available via Healey Library:

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Contains physical constants and formulas, properties of elements and organic and inorganic compounds, and other chemical data.

Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Chemistry by Helicon Publishing
ISBN: 9781859865118
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Quick and easy reference to chemistry terms.

General Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc

An alternative to Wikipedia. Reference works such as encyclopedias are a good place to find background information on a topic, or to quickly look up a fact. They often include bibliographies telling you where to find additional information.

Britannica Library This link opens in a new window
A general encyclopedia covering all subjects. It also includes current events journal articles, selected and reviewed web links, a dictionary, a thesaurus, and timelines with images and links.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a broad variety of reference sources from dictionaries to encyclopedias covering topics from the arts to the sciences. It has an image collection, maps, customizable data, and audio pronunciation files. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
The Gale Virtual Reference collection includes general reference resources as well as titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and the social sciences. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. With more than 2,500 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.