Research Guides: Human Services: Find Books

Search Healey Library Resources and Beyond

UMBrella This link opens in a new window
Search Healey Library Resources including articles, books, ebooks, journals, maps, videos and recordings.
WorldCat @ UMass Boston This link opens in a new window
Combined online catalog of over 9,000 libraries customized to connect directly to Healey Library holdings & interlibrary loan (ILL).

Recommended E-book Collections

Full-text electronic books are found in the UMBrella by selecting Filter your results: eBooks under the search box. These collections are recommended:

APA Books E-Collection This link opens in a new window
APA PsycNET and Ebook-Collections encompass content in psychology and related disciplines (including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, neuroscience, and physiology, among others).
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.

On-campus and off-campus access is limited to users with a UMass Boston network ID and password.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
4/3/2024: A workaround is in place to address an ongoing off-campus access issue to Sage databases. If the link fails to function, please close all tabs and clear your cookies and cache. Then click on the link again.

SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. With more than 2,500 titles, it includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
4/3/2024: A workaround is in place to address an ongoing off-campus access issue to Sage databases. If the link fails to function, please close all tabs and clear your cookies and cache. Then click on the link again.

SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Our SAGE Research Methods access only covers SAGE Research Methods Books & Reference (Core), Cases Part 1, and Datasets Part 1. After you run a search, select the 'Content available to me' option to filter for results with full access.
Springer Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
The Springer Ebook collection provides access to scientific books, particularly in behavioral science and psychology, biomedical and life sciences, and computer science. Also included are protocols (1980-present) for experiments that are readily-reproducible in a step-by-step fashion in a laboratory environment.

Springer Ebooks may be downloaded to your personal device DRM free.

Healey Library Print Collection

Books related to Human Services can be found primarily under several different Call Numbers. These books can be found on the 8th floor and 9th floor of Healey Library, if the catalog location is listed as Main Stacks. Reference works are found in the Reference collection on the 4th floor.

Books related to Human Services can be found under the following Call Numbers:

HV Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology
RA Public aspects of medicine
RJ Pediatrics
HB Economic theory. Demography
HQ The family. Marriage. Women
HN Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform

Search the UMBrella by keyword or subject for books on your topic. If there is a specific book that you require, search the catalog by title or author.

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to borrow books currently unavailable in Healey Library's physical or online collections.

Please view the tutorial on how to find books, or stop by the 4th floor Reference desk if you need additional help.