Read the ebook on your device
- Go to the Safari browser.
- From the Healey Library homepage and use the UMBrella search box to find a title.
-
Start your searches for only ebooks by choosing from a selection of filters including Availability, Material Type and Publication Date.
Availability - Limit to Full Text Online - Limits to items that are accessible online
Material Type - Limit to Books
Publication Date - Useful in finding ebooks in specific date ranges
- From the results list choose the ebook and click on the link provided to read online.
- Alternatively from the library homepage click on Databases List and choose the database that carries ebooks.
Read the ebook from your account on Ebook Central or EBSCO eBook Collection
- Select an ebook database from the Databases List.
- Go to the database.
- Create an account.
- In Ebook Central your account is under Bookshelf, in EBSCO eBook Collection its under My Folder.
- Add the ebook to the user account to read and make annotations.
- The notes and highlights are then saved to your account.
Checking out and Downloading an ebook to a device from Ebook Central
Initial steps:
- Login into your Ebook Central account (Bookshelf).
- Create an Adobe ID.
Search for title
- Click on Available for Full Download.
- A dialog box opens with step by step instructions on downloading to desktop computer or mobile devices.
- Follow the steps to any missing software such as Adobe Digital Editions or the Bluefire reader app.
- The full-text ebook will then open in Bluefire Reader.
With the Bluefire Reader app, you can add notes (Bookmarks) on any book downloaded. You can also highlight text. Bluefire Reader app has the option to view all notes and highlight of the text in one tab. But keep in mind that when the checkout time expires, you will lose all your notes, therefore printout the notes or save to a Word document.
Software Requirements
Adobe Digital Editions
Bluefire Reader app
