Apps with Academic Applications

BrowZine

• Use BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available through Healey Library.

• BrowZine is a free app, compatible with iOS and Android devices.

• This app links to the Healey Library collection of journals.

• Search for journals by title or subjects.

• Arrange the journals in your personal Bookshelf. 

• Be alerted when a new edition of the journal is published. 

• From your Bookshelf open articles  to read or save them for later. 

• Email article or open as PDF.

• Post article to social media.

• Export to citation managers such as Zotero, Mendeley, Dropbox

• Now web based: BrowZine

• Access from the library E-Resources page: peer-reviewed ejournals by subject, title or ISSN.

Additional information on downloading and setting up an account follow this link https://umb.libguides.com/browzine

AML - AccessMyLibrary

• Access the Gale Databases from your device

• Free app, compatible with iOS and Andriod devices

• One-time log-in using your library's password, the mobile app will give you free, unlimited access to your school library's reputable, authoritative Gale online resources — anytime, anywhere

• Search Gale individual databases or use the Powersearch option

• The app allows you to search Gale Databases:  Academic OneFile, InfoTrac, Business Insights and many more

Setting up an Account:

• Link from this web page to download app from iTunes or Google Play

• OR go directly to iTunes or Google Play and search for AML 

• Once downloaded choose from libraries near you “College Libraries"

• Search for UMass Boston from the list of libraries

• Enter your email for authentication. A password will be sent to your email account.

Additional Information: Cengage Learning

Financial Times

Keep up to date with the latest Business news.  Financial Times is a business news organization, recognized internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. Provides essential news, comment, data and analysis for the global business community.  Some features that the app includes are, clipping articles and viewing articles from a personal account: MyFT.

*Download Instructions: Follow the link from the Healey Library Databases list under: Financial Times- Sign up page for mobile access

*Create Account: You must use your UMass Boston email address. Access is for the semester.

Instructions for Apple devices

1. Go to Safari
2. Go to the Financial Times website  app.ft.com/index_page/home
3. Click on the share icon    on your device
4. Find the option “Add to Home Screen”
5. Click Add

Bluefire Reader

• A free ebook reader app compatiable with iOS and Android operating systems. 

• Recommended to view Healey Library's ebook collections found in the database Ebook Central and EBSCO eBook Collection.

• You will need an Adobe ID and password to create your account.

• Download the ebook and read on Bluefire.

• Bluefire has all the features found in reading apps: highlighting, annotations, search public domian books and sharing options.

Additional Information: Bluefire Reader