Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Selected Resources Documenting the History of Bicycling

Contribute Materials to the Bicycling History Collections at UMass Boston

University Archives & Special Collections in the Healey Library at UMass Boston welcomes inquiries from individuals, organizations, and businesses interested in donating materials of an archival nature related to bicycling. These include manuscripts, documents, organizational archives, collections of photographs, unique publications, and audio and video media. We are particularly interested in collecting materials from and about diverse and under-represented communities and about women in cycling. 

UASC is particularly focused on original materials, rather than books and more popular magazines. The Archives is, however, interested in obtaining studies and reports related to bicycling, unique series and magazines and newsletters, and bicycling-related guidebooks. If you have questions, please email library.archives@umb.edu.

For more information about donating to University Archives & Special Collections, email library.archives@umb.edu.

What kinds of materials do we collect?

  • Architectural records
  • Audio/video recordings
  • Photographs, negatives, slides
  • Brochures, pamphlets, flyers, and other organizational publications
  • Conference and event material
  • Articles of incorporation and bylaws
  • Founding and planning documents
  • Handbooks and manuals
  • Membership lists and rosters
  • Memoranda, correspondence, journals, daybooks, diaries
  • Minutes of meetings
  • Organizational charts
  • Policies and procedural documents

Cycling Jersey/T-Shirt/Artifact/Bicycle Photograph Submission Form

University Archives & Special Collections is excited to start collecting community submissions of cycling jersey, t-shirt, artifact, and bicycle images and information. And while we can't take your physical jerseys, bicycles, badges, buttons, ribbons, and trophies into the collection, we can help you memorialize them and include information and images in the collection.

Click here to learn more and to submit your own digital photographs and stories for inclusion in the digital collection.

View community submissions of cycling jersey, t-shirt, artifact, and bicycle images here.

Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900