Finding Editorials and opinions - AMST 212G: The U.S. in the Eighties - Pustz - Research Guides at University of Massachusetts Boston

Accessing Editorials in Databases

Four examples are provided below on how to access editorials from Academic OneFile, Academic Search Complete, and Nexis Uni.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals, popular interest magazines and reference sources. Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology. Provides full text coverage to the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete features thousands of full-text journals. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis ®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
New York Times 1985-present (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images.
The full text of the New York Times (print newspaper, national edition) from 1985 to the present
Only articles that appear in the print newspaper will be available. Articles printed only on the nytimes.com site will not be available. For those articles, please use visit the News and Newspaper Search from Proquest or visit nytimes.com (after creating an account via accessnyt.com first)

NexisUni

To search for editorials and opinion:

On the search form, enter your search terms in the search box. Ex. "gun control"
Select the down arrow to the right of the Search: All Nexis Uni button.
Select News from the Narrow By: pane on the left.
Select one or more checkboxes for the news content types you want to restrict your search to. For example, to restrict your results to editorials, select the checkbox for Editorials & Opinions.
Select the search button

Your search screen should look like this:

Academic OneFile

To conduct a search in Academic OneFile for an editorial, just scroll down the page below the advanced search bar and then select Editorial under By Document Type.

Academic Search Complete

To search for an editorial in Academic Search Complete, first click on the advanced search options.

Then select Editorial under Document Type.