Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Film from Alexander Street provides essential streaming video collections to support teaching and research in film studies and related disciplines. The collections include a comprehensive offering of silent era films, which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Additionally, a contemporary collection offers award winning selections from over 60 countries, providing a window into a wide range of cultures and sociological issues around the world
JSTOR's (Journal Storage) archives include scholarship published in over one thousand of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
. Expanded BOOK access granted by publisher through June 30, 2020 in response to COVID-19: an additional 30,000 books. Expanded JOURNAL access granted by published through December 31, 2020: over 800 additional journals from their archival collections!
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more.Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world. From the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System with state funds and federal IMLS funds.
Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. In it you’ll find: 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals.
Search by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, gender birth/death year, and/or birth/death place
Includes lengthy biographies and brief biographical sketches from respected reference sources and newspaper and magazine articles
America: History and Life is a very important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of American Studies. It covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It includes dissertations, book citations and reviews
Credo Reference provides access to a broad variety of reference sources from dictionaries to encyclopedias covering topics from the arts to the sciences. It has an image collection, maps, customizable data, and audio pronunciation files. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.