Skip to main content

Databases & Indexes

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Library Services Delivered Remotely

We've Got You Covered!

Even though the Healey Library building is closed during UMass Boston's period of remote learning, Library services continue! The staff of Healey Library are here to support you remotely with research help, course reserves, and so much more.

Access Library services and resources:

www.umb.edu/library

Stay up-to-date with Library updates and announcements:

blogs.umb.edu/library/continuity

Please email Library.Circulation@umb.edu with any questions!

Popular Databases

Great starting points for multiple subject areas.

New/Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases have recently been added to the library.
New
Hundreds of important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays—which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries—are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
New
Searchable access to peer-reviewed reference works and cutting-edge academic research in the broad field of design and craft studies. Explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
New
Live theatre straight from Broadway! Award-winning writers, directors and actors become partners in theatre, drama, dance, music, and literature studies. Includes access to 19 premium performances of plays and musicals from the New York theatre scene.
New
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
  • Open Access
New
The first ever dataset of evictions in America, going back to 2000. Find out how many evictions happen in your community. There is a scorecard and interactive features. Create custom maps, charts, and reports. Share facts with your neighbors and elected officials.
New
HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Coverage dates back to the 1700s.
New
Library of American and English literature and poetry, fiction, drama works online supported with full text journals and reference material to help contextualize primary works and authors. Coverage from 600 AD to present.
New Trial
A business resource which advertises a 360 degree perspective of companies, industries, countries, and cities accompanied by powerful analytics. It provides comprehensive market data and industry insights. It provides truly global coverage of all major companies, (including private companies) industries, countries and cities. Enhance academic research with access to trusted, timely, and comprehensive data and insight on socio and macro-economics, industry dynamics, and company performance and activities. We are trialing it for a year. Please provide feedback on this trial resource! Trial ends 3/1/2021
New
Drawing on 10 years of National Theatre Live broadcasts as well as recordings never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive, the video content includes 30 video performances. As a supplement to the filmed productions, exclusive digitized archival materials such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and more are available to provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.
New Trial
NPX offers the world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers. It is designed and built with the needs of the new play sector in mind. Search the plays by title or author name with filters for play info (length, subject, genre), actors/cast characteristics, narrative attributes, identity of characters (race, ethnicity, gender), and playwright demographics. Please provide feedback on this resource. Trial ends 3/1/2021.
New
Covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.
New
Covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
New
High-definition, surround-sound recordings of William Shakespeare’s plays. The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection brings The Tempest, King Lear, Hamlet and other famous performances filmed at the Royal Shakespeare Company’s Stratford-upon-Avon theater to classrooms around the world.
New
40,000 pages of monumental reference works, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks, and other resources that offer a glimpse into the productions of the past.
New
Brings together hundreds of the world’s most important plays, documentaries, interviews, and instructional materials. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group
New
This database combines important video content types used in theatre education (filmed stage performances, master classes, documentaries, and training material) with previously unpublished production designs, reference texts, and top-of-the-line teaching tools. This database contains 7 collections: Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection, The Broadway HD™ Collection, National Theatre Collection, Performance Design Archive Online, The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection, Theatre in Context Collection, and Theatre in Video: Volumes I & II
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. If you are using a mobile device, please download the mobile apps linked on the initial launch screen.
Loading...
title
Loading...
Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900