Research Guides: Newspapers: Home

Librarian

he/they

Email Me

Subjects: Anthropology, Applied Linguistics, Communication Studies, Economics, Education, Political Science, Public Policy & Public Affairs

Healey Library Statement on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Healey Library Statement on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

The Healey Library is committed to taking action and making changes as we identify them in order to improve the working and studying environment.

Anti-Racism Guide
Information and resources for the UMass Boston community

Newspapers

Healey Library subscribes to a large number of newspapers, in print, microform and electronic versions. The newspapers can be accessed through UMBrella's new Journal Finder and the library databases. Search the name of the newspaper through Journal Finder.

Boston Globe (historical + current) 1872-present This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images, except for pre-1993 historical content.
Search the full run of the Boston Globe from one place. Access is from 1872-present. The extensive coverage provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New York Times 1985-present (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images.
The full text of the New York Times (print newspaper, national edition) from 1985 to the present
Only articles that appear in the print newspaper will be available. Articles printed only on the nytimes.com site will not be available. For those articles, please use visit the News and Newspaper Search from Proquest or visit nytimes.com (after creating an account via accessnyt.com first)
New York Times (nytimes.com) Subscription This link opens in a new window
This subscription allows you to simply go to nytimes.com and log in using an individual account. Get access to the most up-to-date articles. Images, videos, and interactive elements included. Crosswords and recipes are excluded.

How to get an account: 1. Go to accessnyt.com 2. Search for and click the listing for “University of Massachusetts”. 3. Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus. 4. Attention Chrome users! You will get a security warning. Please go ahead and click ignore!

Important note: If you already have an nytimes.com account, you will need to log out of your personal accounts (if registered to a non-UMB email address) or cancel your subscriptions (if registered to a UMB email) before authenticating through the library's subscription.

Mobile app available from App Store and Google Play.
Included in our subscription:
- New York Times Magazine, videos, blogs, and newsletters
- Newspaper archives 1851 to 2002 via the TimesMachine. For articles from 1923 to 1980, users are limited to five PDF downloads per 24-hours.
- Teaching and learning resources
Not included:
Passes do not include e-reader editions, Times Premier content, New York Times Games, New York Times Cooking, and The Athletic.
Wall Street Journal (1984 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images. Access full-text articles in ProQuest database. Only articles that appear in the print newspaper will be available. Online articles are available through the subscription below.
Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) Subscription This link opens in a new window
This subscription allows you to simply go to wsj.com and log in using an individual account. Get access to the most up-to-date articles and the WSJ newsletters. You can download the print edition from the most recent 90 days.

How to get an account: 1. Go to the UMass Boston WSJ link. 2. You will be prompted to sign in through the UMass Boston sign-in screens. 3. Then, you will be taken to a form to create an individual account. Please create the account using a new, unique password instead of your UMB password.

Mobile app available from App Store and Google Play.

Newspaper Collections

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis ®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Gale OneFile: News (formerly Infotrac Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
Infotrac Newsstand provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
News & Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images.
Search newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Find national and international newspapers, such as The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and The Guardian. These databases also include large collections of local and regional newspapers.
Ethnic Newswatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader provides access to over 7,000 full-color, full-page newspapers and magazines from over 120 countries. You can discover the content by publication name, country, genre or language, and download the full issues for offline reading.

Mobile app is available from App Store or Google Play. Once you've downloaded the app: Click Sign In > Libraries & Groups > Search for University of Massachusetts Boston and be prompted to log in with your UMB login and password.