Getting an Article
While some databases include the full text of articles, others only provide citations. Citations may include a link to the full text which will take you to the complete article. For help getting an article, follow these steps:
- Search Google Scholar
- Check if the library has a subscription to the journal through ejournals.
- Check the Healey Library Catalog to see if the library has the journal in print or microfilm.
- Request a copy of the article from Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
- Ask a librarian for help.
INTRODUCTION

Healey Library subscribes to databases which address "Hot Topics" from differing viewpoints. Opinions, editorials and opposing viewpoints can be found in multidisciplinary databases. Click on the tabs above to find magazines, newspapers and scholarly journals from varying viewpoints.
DATABASES FOR "HOT TOPICS"
Use the Pro/Con section on CQ Researcher to view a series of articles written about a controversial topic.

- CQ ResearcherExplores in depth a single "hot" issue in the news each week. All articles include an introduction to the topic, a lengthy overview, background information, the current situation, the outlook, and a pro/con section.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextThe premier online resource covering today’s hottest social & political issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration, etc -- with opposing ponts-of-view. Links to academic journal articles, magazine articles, images, podcasts, vetted websites.
MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES
- Academic OneFile Contains scholarly journals, popular interest magazines and reference sources
- Academic Search Premier Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology
- LexisNexisLexisNexis contains broadcast transcripts such as NPR, Fox, and CNN. Go to the Search the News box and use the drop-down menu to select Broadcast Transcripts.
- ProQuest CentralProQuest Central contains commentaries on the advanced search page under document type.

Loading...
