Collaborate.umb.edu is is a searchable database of UMass Boston research faculty and staff, containing:
• Information about academic appointments
• Research expertise
• Publication outputs and metrics
• Awarded sponsored grants and contracts
• Patents and other intellectual property
• Equipment and laboratory space
• Additional scholarly accomplishments and affiliations
Each profile includes a specialized “scholarly fingerprint” related to the topical area and expertise of the researcher or research unit.
Collaborate@umb.edu is powered by PURE, Scopus & Elsevier Fingerprint EngineTM
Anyone may view content on the public portal (https://collaborate.umb.edu/).
To update researcher profiles, add new content or correct existing information, researchers can log in to the administrative portal (https://collaborate.umb.edu//admin).
All active full-time tenured and tenure-track faculty are included in collaborate.umb.edu. Additionally, a limited number of profile seats are allocated to campus colleges, research centers, and institutes for providing their specialized and professional researchers with profiles.
This information is managed by the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs in collaboration with Healey Library, and will be updated on a semester schedule. If you are a researcher included in the database and have questions about your profile, contact scholarworks@umb.edu.
Please note: New faculty meeting our criteria might experience a delay in profile generation. All academic paperwork must be updated in the faculty database. Once updated, a profile will automatically generate.
Profile information that is related to the researcher's position at UMass Boston comes from the UMass Boston Office of Research and Sponsored Programs via UMass Boston Human Resources..
Research outputs (publications, articles, etc.) are being updated through a Scopus crawl at weekly intervals.
Scopus (owned by Elsevier) is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Scopus provides a comprehensive overview of worldwide research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Profiles that exist in collaborate.umb.edu that have matched to a Scopus ID will pull that information into their profile on a weekly basis.
For more information about the sources for Scopus, visit their web page at https://www.elsevier.com/products/scopus/content#0-content-coverage.
In addition to Scopus, which provides automated updates every week, the collaborate.umb.edu team will routinely search for and import publication data from additional sources (including SSRN, Crossref, PubMed, PlumX, Orcid ID) in order to improve coverage across all disciplines. Please note that there will likely be a slight delay between publication and availability through indexing services (and subsequent entry into the system)—especially if a work is published online ahead of print.
Researchers are also able to manually enter data.
For questions about researcher profile information contact scholarworks@umb.edu.
What is being done to inform the campus about UMass Boston Collaborate?
Announcements about collaborate.umb.edu are being disseminated this Fall 2025 via email and newsletter. The UMass Boston Office of Research and Sponsored Programs also has information on their website (https://www.umb.edu/research/collaborate/), and Healey Library has the information listed in this library guide. New faculty and researchers whose profiles will be included in collaborate.umb.edu will be alerted and pointed to resources once their profile is added to the public portal.
After reading through this library guide and you still have further questions, you can visit the UMass Boston Office of Research and Sponsored Programs website, or send your questions to the team via the scholarworks@umb.edu email.