Skip to Main Content

Databases & Indexes

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

Campus Closures and Library Remote Operations

The Healey Library building is open. Many services are also still being offered remotely.

CURBSIDE PICKUP: To request a book or DVD from library’s collection for curbside pickup, please sign into UMBrella directly, search for a title, open the item's record, and click ‘REQUEST OPTIONS: Place Hold for Pickup’ link.

Curbside pickup services are currently available by appointment Monday through Saturday at the ISC drop-off area. When an item is ready, patrons will receive an email including the details for booking curbside appointments. Please note that library curbside services are unavailable on days the campus is closed, including holidays, periods in which the campus is operating remotely, and inclement weather closures. See a map of the curbside location or an interactive campus map.

LIBRARY REQUESTS: Use the Healey Library Requests Form to request items for purchase, course reserves, or digitization.


Many answers about the campus's response to the coronavirus can be found in the university's special section.

Popular Databases

Great starting points for multiple subject areas.

New/Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases have recently been added to the library.
New
The database is a collection of treatises on art and architecture from the period 1470 to 1775. It is structured around the two Italian editions of Giogio Vasari's Lives of the Artists.
New
This subscription allows you to simply go to nytimes.com and log in using an individual account. You can also use that account to access the New York Times app.

How to get an account: 1. Go to accessnyt.com 2. Search for and click the listing for “University of Massachusetts”. 3. Follow the steps based on whether you are On or Off Campus. 4. Attention Chrome users! You will get a security warning. Please go ahead and click ignore!

Important note: If you already have an nytimes.com account, you will need to log out of your personal accounts (if registered to a non-UMB email address) or cancel your subscriptions (if registered to a UMB email) before authenticating through the library's subscription.
New
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to 20,000 academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
New
PressReader provides access to over 7,000 full-color, full-page newspapers and magazines from over 120 countries. You can discover the content by publication name, country, genre or language, and download the full issues for offline reading.

Other than browsing the content online in the PressReader website, you may also download the PressReader app from the App Store or Play Store. Click Sign In > Libraries & Groups > Search for University of Massachusetts Boston and be prompted to log in with your UMB login and password. If you get an error, wait 5 minutes and try again. There is currently an issue where it sometimes connects only on the second sign-in attempt
New
Presenting the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust, this digital collection offers students and researchers of the Romantic period unique access to the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.
New
The University Press Library on degruyter.com. Unlimited access to the 2020-present digital output of six university presses: Columbia, Cornell, Harvard, Hawaii, Princeton, U. of California, and Yale. There are zero DRM restrictions. The collections include all monographs, dissertations, and academic textbooks in more than 70 subject areas in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Loading...
title
Loading...
Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900