This database brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters. Many cultures are represented, including Dutch, English, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, African, and a host of Native American peoples. The database is rich in maps, facsimile versions of important books, and images by DeBry, Catlin, and others. All volumes of The Jesuit Relations are included, in both the original language and in English. The database provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists: traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
The HistoryMakers Digital Archive contains over 2,000 interviews of distinguished African Americans in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life. It is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present.