Research Guides: Boston Teachers Union Collection: External Resources

External Resources

Beyond Busing: The Boston Public Schools Desegregation Collection
The Boston Public Schools Desegregation Collection is a digital archive of collections documenting public school desegregation and busing in Boston, subsequent unrest, and developments in following decades. Assembled by the Northeastern University Library, the resource draws from multiple institutions including the Northeastern University Archives and Special Collections, the University of Massachusetts Boston University Archives & Special Collections, the Boston City Archives, and the Boston Library Consortium. The linked website provides an entry point for investigating primary sources, supplemental materials, and curricular materials.
The American Federation of Teachers Records at the Walter P. Reuther Library at Wayne State University
The Boston Phoenix Internet Archive
The Boston Phoenix is a general interest magazine published in Boston. The Internet Archvies collection holds microfilm published between 1973 and 2013.
City of Boston Archives
The official archives of the City of Boston.
The National Education Association Archives
The archives of the National Education Association held in the Special Collections Research Center at George Washington University.
Radical America
A Boston-based radical publication with much coverage of school desegregation and radical politics in Boston and made available by the Brown University Library Center for Digital Scholarship. The magazine's "trajectory illustrates the effort to place an intellectual stamp on the radical impulses of the late twentieth century."

Bibliography - Published Works of Interest

On the Boston Teachers Union:

Charney, Michael, Jesse Hagopian, and Bob Peterson. Teacher Unions and Social Justice. Milwaukee: Rethinking Schools, 2021. https://rethinkingschools.org/books/teacher-unions-and-social-justice/.
Clark, Matthew R. “Competing Goals: The Boston Teachers Union and the Boston Busing Crisis.” M.A., University of Massachusetts Boston. Accessed April 30, 2022. https://www.proquest.com/dissertations-theses/competing-goals-boston-teachers-union-busing/docview/2172440724/se-2?accountid=28932.
Cronin, Joseph Marr. Reforming Boston Schools, 1930-2006: Overcoming Corruption and Racial Segregation. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2008. http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/umboston/detail.action?docID=3027813.
Harrison, Jennifer Pish. “Teacher Unionism, Civil Rights, and the Desegregation of the Boston Public Schools, 1963-1981.” Georgetown University-Graduate School of Arts & Sciences. Thesis, Georgetown University, 2013. https://repository.library.georgetown.edu/handle/10822/558322.

On Public Education and Political Organizing in Boston:

Batson, Ruth. The Black Educational Movement in Boston: A Sequence of Historical Events : A Chronology. Northeastern University, School of Education, 2001. https://repository.library.northeastern.edu/files/neu:cj82p218w.
Delmont, Matthew F. Why Busing Failed : Race, Media, and the National Resistance to School Desegregation. Oakland: University of California Press, 2016. https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=1132486&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s5071694. (Companion website at www.whybusingfailed.com).
Formisano, Ronald P. Boston Against Busing: Race, Class, and Ethnicity in the 1960s and 1970s. University of North Carolina Press, 1991.
King, Mel. Chain of Change: Struggles for Black Community Development. Boston: South End Press, 1981. https://umbrella.lib.umb.edu/permalink/01MA_UMB/1a3vcr/alma99103973503746.
Nelson, Adam R. The Elusive Ideal: Equal Educational Opportunity and the Federal Role in Boston's Public Schools, 1950-1985. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2005. https://umbrella.lib.umb.edu/permalink/01MA_UMB/1a3vcr/alma994483343503746.
Theoharis, Jeanne, “‘They Told Us Our Kids Were Stupid’: Ruth Batson and the Educational Movement in Boston” in Theoharis, Komozi Woodard, and Charles M. Payne. Groundwork: Local Black Freedom Movements in America. New York: New York University Press, 2005. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/umboston/reader.action?docID=865936&ppg=33.
Vrabel, Jim. A People’s History of the New Boston. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 2014. http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/umboston/detail.action?docID=4533193.
Journal of Urban History Special Section: Rethinking the Boston “Busing” Crisis (2017)
Delmont, Matthew, and Jeanne Theoharis. “Introduction: Rethinking the Boston ‘Busing Crisis.’” Journal of Urban History 43, no. 2 (March 1, 2017): 191–203. https://doi.org/10.1177/0096144216688276.
Miletsky, Zebulon Vance. “Before Busing: Boston’s Long Movement for Civil Rights and the Legacy of Jim Crow in the ‘Cradle of Liberty.’” Journal of Urban History 43, no. 2 (March 1, 2017): 204–17.
Delmont, Matthew. “Television News and the Making of the Boston Busing Crisis.” Journal of Urban History 43, no. 2 (March 1, 2017): 218–34.
Cruz, Tatiana M. F. ““We Took ’Em On”: The Latino Movement for Educational Justice in Boston, 1965-1980.” Journal of Urban History 43, no. 2 (March 1, 2017): 235–55.
Thomas, Lynnell L. “Civil Rights Gone Wrong: Racial Nostalgia, Historical Memory, and the Boston Busing Crisis in Contemporary Children’s Literature.” Journal of Urban History 43, no. 2 (March 1, 2017): 256–72.
Bundy, Tess. “‘Revolutions Happen through Young People!’: The Black Student Movement in the Boston Public Schools, 1968-1971.” Journal of Urban History 43, no. 2 (March 1, 2017): 273–93.

On Teacher Unionism:

Alter, Tom. “‘It Felt Like Community’: Social Movement Unionism and the Chicago Teachers Union Strike of 2012.” Labor 10, no. 3 (September 1, 2013): 11–25. https://go.openathens.net/redirector/umb.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Fdoi.org%2F10.1215%2F15476715-2149461.
Ayers, William, Crystal Laura, and Rick Ayers. “You Can’t Fire the Bad Ones!”: And 18 Other Myths about Teachers, Teachers Unions, and Public Education. Beacon Press, 2018. https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/541044/you-cant-fire-the-bad-ones-by-william-ayers-crystal-laura-and-rick-ayers/.
Bates, Matthew C. “A History of the International Labor Communications Association.” Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park. Accessed April 30, 2022. https://www.proquest.com/dissertations-theses/history-international-labor-communications/docview/1033235663/se-2?accountid=28932.
Givan, Rebecca Kolins, and Amy Schrager Lang. Strike for the Common Good: Fighting for the Future of Public Education. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2020. http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/umboston/detail.action?docID=6357596.
Murphy, Marjorie. Blackboard Unions: The AFT and the NEA, 1900-1980 / Marjorie Murphy. Ithaca, N.Y: Cornell University Press, 1990. https://umbrella.lib.umb.edu/permalink/01MA_UMB/1a3vcr/alma992963403503746.
Pawlewicz, Diana D’Amico. Blaming Teachers: Professionalization Policies and the Failure of Reform in American History. New Brunswick: Rutgers University Press, 2020. http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/umboston/detail.action?docID=6262885.
Perrillo, Jonna. Uncivil Rights: Teachers, Unions, and Race in the Battle for School Equity. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2012. http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/umboston/detail.action?docID=914971.
Shelton, Jon. Teacher Strike!: Public Education and the Making of a New American Political Order. Chicago: University of Illinois Press, 2017. http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/umboston/detail.action?docID=4843899.
Taylor, Clarence. Reds at the Blackboard: Communism, Civil Rights, and the New York City Teachers Union. New York: Columbia University Press, 2011. http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/umboston/detail.action?docID=908797.
Todd-Breland, Elizabeth. A Political Education: Black Politics and Education Reform in Chicago since the 1960s. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2018.

Boston Teachers Union Collection: External Resources

Freedom School- St. Marks Social Center- Roxbury

External Resources

Bibliography - Published Works of Interest