"Part of a nation's history lies in what people eat. Artifacts at the Museum document the history of food in the United States from farm machinery to diet fads."
"Since 1950, new technologies and cultural changes
have transformed what and how we eat.... This website is based on an exhibition that opened at the National Museum of American History in November 2012."
Traditional Foodways of Native America: Oral Histories of Native Food Revitalization
"Based on extensive oral history interviews with indigenous food practitioners, this project highlights the critically important work being done by Native leaders today."
Posters in this collection were used during World War I by countries on both sides of the conflict to disseminate information, "garner support, urge action, and boost morale." This subset of posters focuses on issues related to the food supply and rationing efforts.
"The Waxman Collection of Food and Culinary Trade Cards comprises approximately 6,500 printed advertising cards dating from the last quarter of the nineteenth century.... Among its subjects are agriculture, food processing and food distribution, cookery in both home and restaurants, kitchen equipment, tableware, views on food and health, and many related sectors of domestic life."
The University of South Carolina houses a variety of collections documenting plantation life. Some noteable collections include the Keziah Brevard Journal, 1860-1861, which discusses preparation and preservation of food, menus offered to guests, winery procedures, and more and the Marx E. Cohen Plantation Records, 1840-1868, which detail daily activities of plantation life such as planting and harvesting of crops, timber cutting, sale of goods, weather observations, and records of plantation slaves.
The Michigan State University Library and the MSU Museum presents this online collection of the most important and influential 19th and early 20th century American cookbooks. The digital archive will include page images of 75 cookbooks in the MSU Library's collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions. The site will also feature a glossary of cookery terms, essays by culinary historian Jan Longone, and multidimensional images of antique cooking implements from the collections of the MSU Museum.
Check out the "Food and Drink in History" collection: From feast to famine, explore primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
Includes historical nutrition education materials from the federal government, such as posters, recipes, and radio transcripts, as well as current nutrition education materials reviewed by the Dietary Guidance Review Committee.
The Oxford Handbook of Food History by 
An Archive of Taste by 
From the Jewish Heartland by 
The Handbook of Food and Anthropology by 
Eating the Landscape by 
Dethroning the Deceitful Pork Chop by 
Food in Time and Place by 
Tortillas, Tiswin, and T-Bones by 
Modern Food, Moral Food by 
Chow Chop Suey by 
Title Crossroads of Cuisine : The Eurasian Heartland, the Silk Roads and Food (Volume 2) by Covers virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture
- Find statistics by crop
- Refine to imports, exports, production, year
- Link to country for additional data
- Find statistics by country or geographic region