This guide describes some of the most useful databases for finding physics research. To see a complete list of databases go to the library's Databases & Indexes page. If you are searching off campus, enter your last name and barcode for access.
The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library has full text access to all ACM journals, newsletters, and conference proceedings. You can also search the Guide to Computing Literature, which provides comprehensive bibliographic coverage for the field of computer science.
The Guide to Computing Literature indexes all ACM publications plus computing literature from other publishers. It covers books, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, and technical reports.
Maintained by Cornell University, arXiv is an e-print service for the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. It serves two functions: preserving the eprints for posterity and providing researchers open access to the eprints. Articles are not peer-reviewed, however, arXiv will not add a paper if it does not fit into the arXiv mission to store and disseminate scholarly scientific research.
The IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
IEEE Xplore provides Web access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
The content in IEEE Xplore comprises over 160 journals, over 1,200 conference proceedings, more than 3,800 technical standards, over 1,000 eBooks and over 300 educational courses. Approximately 25,000 new documents are added to IEEE Xplore each month.
SPIE Digital Library contains the world’s largest collection of optics and photonics research with over 380,000 papers from conference proceedings, peer-reviewed journals, and eBooks. Content covers the broadest range of applied optics and photonics science and engineering papers anywhere.
Some of the technologies covered are: Astronomy Biomedical Optics and Medical Imaging Defense and Security Electronic Imaging and Signal Processing Illumination and Displays Lasers and Sources Mathematics Micro/Nanolithography Nanotechnology Optical Design and Engineering Optoelectronics and Communications Remote Sensing Sensing and Measurement Solar and Alternative Energy
Contains scholarly journals, popular interest magazines and reference sources. Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology. Provides full text coverage to the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology.
Contains scholarly journals and popular interest magazines. Many articles are available in full text.
JSTOR is a collection of thousands of high-quality academic journals and ebooks across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
ProQuest Central is a comprehensive multidisciplinary research database. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports all together in one platform.
ScienceDirect provides full text online access to over 4500 Elsevier scholarly journals and ebooks from the humanities and physical, life, health, and social sciences.
Web of Science provides access to the combined Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index. This is one of the largest scholarly databases to which Healey Library subscribes. Use Cited Reference to find out who used a particular book or article for his/her research.
