Research Guides: Gerontology: Find Articles

Gerontology Databases

Ageline This link opens in a new window
Produced by American Association of Retired Persons (AARP) and focuses on the subject of aging and middle-aged and older adults, particularly addressing the social, psychological, economic, policy, and health care aspects of aging. Delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies is particularly well covered, as are consumer, employment, and public policy issues.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the major research database in the field of psychology. It covers all areas of psychology as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations and contains over 2.6 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers sociology in general and its subdisciplines, such as aging, ethnic & racial studies, family and gender studies. Provides full text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.

Health Related Databases

CINAHL Ultimate (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.

Unlimited users
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine (formerly Health Reference Center Academic) This link opens in a new window
Health Reference Center - Academic covers medical, nutrition, and public health topics. It includes a mixture of scholarly journals and popular magazines as well as some reference books, news articles, and multi-media resources. It has some full text publications.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
An excellent resource for researchers in nursing, community health sciences, communications disorders and other health-related disciplines. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database contains over 250 full text nursing and allied health journals. Full text begins in the early to mid 1990's, but indexing goes back to the early 1980's.
PubMed (with links to UMass Boston Holdings) This link opens in a new window
PubMed (with links to UMass Boston Holdings) provides direct links to online articles available through Healey Library. PubMed also links to some free open access full text.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine provides leading McGraw-Hill medical textbooks such as Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and online teaching tools such as animated anatomy modules and procedural videos. The collection was designed for residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants, with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care. A great resource for UMB’s CNHS.
Visible Body Suite (formerly Human Anatomy Atlas) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body. You must create an account. Upon your first visit, click on the Sign Up link at the bottom. You can then create your account using your existing Google account or make a completely separate account. With that account, you also get access to the mobile app, and you can log into the database without having to go through the library link for 150 days.

For tablet/mobile devices: download the app from the App Store or Google Play. Account creation is best done on a laptop/desktop initially to link to your UMass Boston access. Or while making sure you're signed out from the app, you can sign in with the account one time on a laptop/desktop to make that link. Afterward, use the mobile app for 150 days without needing to link it again.

The first time the web app launches, it can take a few minutes. If the wheel keeps spinning for more than 5 minutes, you may need to close out all your tabs and clear your browser’s cache, cookies, and history from all time.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Our SAGE Research Methods access only covers SAGE Research Methods Books & Reference (Core), Cases Part 1, and Datasets Part 1. After you run a search, select the 'Content available to me' option to filter for results with full access.
SAGE Research Methods Cases Part 1 This link opens in a new window
Case studies written by researchers in the field that give a first hand account of research design and the realities of conducting original research. Approximately 30 new cases are added to this collection annually (through 2027).
SAGE Research Methods Datasets Part 1 This link opens in a new window
Sample data to use to practice analytical techniques, accompanied by an instructional guide and step-by-step software instructions for quantitative datasets. Approximately 10 new datasets are added to this collection annually (through 2027).

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly journals, popular interest magazines and reference sources. Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology. Provides full text coverage to the New York Times from 1985 to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology.
Contains scholarly journals and popular interest magazines. Many articles are available in full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of thousands of high-quality academic journals and ebooks across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a comprehensive multidisciplinary research database. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports all together in one platform.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides full text online access to over 4500 Elsevier scholarly journals and ebooks from the humanities and physical, life, health, and social sciences.
UMBrella This link opens in a new window
Search Healey Library Resources including articles, books, ebooks, journals, maps, videos and recordings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the combined Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
This is one of the largest scholarly databases to which Healey Library subscribes. Use Cited Reference to find out who used a particular book or article for his/her research.