Theatre Arts

The main index for literature and language research. It indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.

Shakespeare Survey is a yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Since 1948 Survey has published the best international scholarship in English and many of its essays have become classics of Shakespeare criticism.

The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and 2013. Containing over 132,640 annotated entries, this collected information is an essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England.

NPX offers the world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers. It is designed and built with the needs of the new play sector in mind. Search the plays by title or author name with filters for play info (length, subject, genre), actors/cast characteristics, narrative attributes, identity of characters (race, ethnicity, gender), and playwright demographics. Also provides information on theatre companies and organizations in the United States and Canada.

High-definition, surround-sound recordings of William Shakespeare’s plays. The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection brings The Tempest, King Lear, Hamlet and other famous performances filmed at the Royal Shakespeare Company’s Stratford-upon-Avon theater to classrooms around the world.

Library of American and English literature and poetry, fiction, drama works online supported with full text journals and reference material to help contextualize primary works and authors. Coverage from 600 AD to present.

Contains scholarly journals, popular interest magazines and reference sources. Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology. Provides full text coverage to the New York Times from 1985 to the present.

Multidisciplinary coverage, including arts, humanities, sciences and technology
Contains scholarly journals and popular interest magazines. Many articles are available in full text.

JSTOR is a collection of thousands of high-quality academic journals and ebooks across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.

Contains publications in the fields of education, psychology, religion, family health, and more.
Contains articles from scholarly journals, popular interest magazines, trade publications, newspapers, working papers, etc.

Search Healey Library Resources including articles, books, ebooks, journals, maps, videos and recordings.

Web of Science provides access to the combined Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
This is one of the largest scholarly databases to which Healey Library subscribes. Use Cited Reference to find out who used a particular book or article for his/her research.