Research Guides: Primary Sources: A Research Guide: Find Videos

Video Databases

Find videos through UMBrella using the Advanced Search and selecting Audio Visual under Material Type.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online comprises the full content of dozens of video collections and bonus discipline clusters, and grows by 7,000 titles each year. Collections include Counseling and Therapy in Video, Education in Video, Latin America in Video, Theatre in Video; and many more.

Boston TV News Digital Library
An online catalog of news content from Boston Public Library’s WHDH film collection (1960- mid-1970s), Cambridge Community Television (1988 to 1999), Northeast Historic Film’s WCVB film collection (1970-1979), and WGBH-produced The Reporters (1970-1973), Evening Compass (1973-1975) and the Ten O’Clock News.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your library research guides, content management systems, online lesson plans, or distance.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Online educational videos.

Most Kanopy videos can be viewed immediately. However, for titles with preview-only access, you will need to submit a request via Kanopy for the Library to obtain a license.
Access Tip: If a video does not play and there are no messages indicating that the university lacks access, please try using a different browser.
Desktop/Laptop Instructions: Once you arrive at the video, look for the Watch Now button and follow the prompts to log in. Click "Skip" on any screens that ask you to create an account. You do NOT need to create an account.
Phone/Tablet Users: You MUST download free Kanopy app (available from App Store and Google Play) AND create an account. Once the account is created and the you are on the app, you should click on "Log In" to log in with your account.
Media Education Foundation films will be leaving Kanopy and can be found in the Media Education Foundation database.
WGBH Open Vault This link opens in a new window
Open Vault is the home of WGBH Media Library and Archives, providing online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning. Visitors can become a "member" (free) of Open Vault: to access records and save findings.