Open Access: OA Books, Journals and Repositories

The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service that provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books that are freely available and accessible. 

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a unique and extensive index of diverse Open Access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.

Unpaywall is a browser extension that users can download to help identify Open Access resources from over 50 million free scholarly articles and over 50,000 publishers and repositories. 

• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users find trusted OA book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available. 
• OAPEN's OABooks Toolkit is intended to promote and support open access to academic books. The first section of the toolkit is for researchers and authors to understand OA publishing and to increase trust in OA books. The second section is aimed at policy makers to support OA development for OA books.

• The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a searchable directory of open access journals across all disciplines. 
• The Open Library of Humanities publishes open access resources with no article processing charges (APCs) for authors.
• The Public Library of Science (PLOS) is a highly respected journal for all-things science: from biology, to ecology to nanoscience and neuroscience. 
• Springer Nature's BioMed Central has a portfolio of over 250 open access journal titles in biology, health sciences and medicine. 

• The Digital Public Library of America provides access to over 51 million images, texts, videos and sounds from across the U.S., including free digital access to banned books. 
• Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education research materials sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. It provides access to journal articles, books, conference papers, policy papers, and other education-related materials. 
• HathiTrust is a digital repository and research management tool for the United States' great research libraries, focused on providing scholars with the largest collection of electronic research material, large-scale full-text searching and archiving tools.
• The Internet Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, academic books and full-text online. 
• U.S. Department of Agriculture's AGRICOLA provides access to more than 8 million records covering all aspects of agriculture and related disciplines. 
• WGBH's Open Vault provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station GBH.

• Accounting & Finance
• American Studies
• Anthropology
• Art
• Biology
• Early Childhood Education
• Economics
• Music
• Urban Planning & Community Development

• Open Access Button is a browser extension that allows users to find open access versions of articles by searching title, DOI, URL, etc.
• Unpaywall is a browser extension that looks for open access versions of published articles that have a DOI.