Urban Planning and Community Development

Searches across and provides access to the more than 300 digital collections created by the Library of Congress. Includes photos, prints, drawings, maps, books, manuscripts, audio recordings, films, notated music, newspapers, and archived websites.

Archnet is an open access, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to unique visual and textual material to facilitate teaching, scholarship, and professional work of high quality.

Archnet is an authority, a growing repository, and a tool for teaching and learning about the architecture of Muslim societies, past, and present. Archnet is a partnership between the Aga Khan Trust for Culture and the Aga Khan Documentation Center at MIT Libraries.

The Caselaw Access Project (“CAP”) expands public access to U.S. law. Our goal is to make all published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online, in a consistent format, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law Library.

CAP includes all official, book-published United States case law — every volume designated as an official report of decisions by a court within the United States. Our scope includes all state courts, federal courts, and territorial courts for American Samoa, Dakota Territory, Guam, Native American Courts, Navajo Nation, and the Northern Mariana Islands. Our earliest case is from 1658, and our most recent cases are from 2018.

"Our mission is to increase the openness, integrity, and reproducibility of scholarly research. We work on ways to make the process, content, and outcomes of research openly accessible for others to discuss and build on."

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards."

Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering a range of subjects.

"GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government."

Library of Congress searchable and full text newspapers from 1836 to 1922 in selected states. Directory of newspapers from 1690 to present.

"The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's (HUD's) Office of Policy Development and Research (PD&R) supports the Department's efforts to help create cohesive, economically healthy communities."

"To promote the use of open data in cities across the United States, the National League of Cities (NLC) has partnered with Socrata to launch an open data portal. The portal provides a comprehensive list of cities utilizing open data and highlights particular data sets by category, as well as relevant NLC research. The portal is geared towards cities at any stage of the open data process; cities without open data portals can gain an overview of how other cities are using data, while cities with established portals can find examples of particular datasets from other cities that would be useful to emulate. As this portal is designed to be a tool for cities, we seek to engage with cities on this issue and welcome feedback. We hope that this site will be a valuable resource for cities to explore, view, and download data from cities across the country and facilitate improved governance in the 21st century."

Open archive of the social sciences