Research Guides: Urban Planning and Community Development: Find Books

Selected Urban Planning and Community Development Print Books & eBooks

Street Smart: The Rise of Cities and the Fall of Cars

Decision Science for Housing and Community Development: Localized and Evidence-Based Responses to Distressed Housing and Blighted Communities

Excellence in Managing: Practical Experiences from Community Development Agencies

Taking Sustainable Cities Seriously: Economic Development, the Environment, and Quality of Life in American Cities

Policy, Planning, and People: Promoting Justice in Urban Development

Place Matters: Metropolitics for the Twenty-First Century

Asset Building & Community Development

Community Development Around the World: Practice, Theory, Research, Training

Urban Planning Theory Since 1945

Reclaiming Public Housing: A Half Century of Struggle in Three Public Neighborhoods

The World Bank Legal Review, Volume 5

Crisis Cities: Disaster and Redevelopment in New York and New Orleans

Rebuilding Urban Neighborhoods: Achievements, Opportunities, and Limits

National Urban Policy in OECD Countries

City Politics: The Political Economy of Urban America

How Cities Work: Suburbs, Sprawl, and the Roads Not Taken

Introduction to Community Development: Theory, Practice, and Service-Learning

Emergent Phenomena in Housing Markets: Gentrification, Housing Search, Polarization

Building Urban Resilience: Principles, Tools, and Practice

Planning World Cities: Globalization and Urban Politics

The Fate of Cities: Urban America and the Federal Government, 1945-2000

Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City

Service-learning in Design and Planning: Educating at the Boundaries

Once the American Dream: Inner-ring Suburbs of the Metropolitan United States

From Chicago to L.A.: Making Sense of Urban Theory

Search Healey Library Resources and Beyond

UMBrella This link opens in a new window
Search Healey Library Resources including articles, books, ebooks, journals, maps, videos and recordings.
WorldCat @ UMass Boston This link opens in a new window
Combined online catalog of over 9,000 libraries customized to connect directly to Healey Library holdings & interlibrary loan (ILL).

Recommended E-book Collections

Full-text electronic books can be found by searching UMBrella or ebook collections. These collections are recommended:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.

On-campus and off-campus access is limited to users with a UMass Boston network ID and password.
World Bank eLibrary This link opens in a new window
The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 5,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 2,000 World Bank publications and over 3,200 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.
Springer Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
The Springer Ebook collection provides access to scientific books, particularly in behavioral science and psychology, biomedical and life sciences, and computer science. Also included are protocols (1980-present) for experiments that are readily-reproducible in a step-by-step fashion in a laboratory environment.

Springer Ebooks may be downloaded to your personal device DRM free.

Healey Library Print Collection

Books about Urban Planning and Community Development can be found in various sections of the library, particularly under the HN and HT call numbers. UMBrella contains information for all the books, both electronic and print, available at the library. To find books on a topic, search by keyword or subject. If there is a specific book that you require, search UMBrella by title or author.

Call numbers to browse for books on relevant subjects:

G: Geography (General). Atlases. Maps
GB: Physical geography
GE: Environmental sciences
GF: Human ecology. Anthropogeography
HB: Economic theory. Demography
HC: Economic history and conditions
HD: Industries. Land use. Labor
HE: Transportation and communications
HJ: Public finance
HN: Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
HT: Communities. Classes. Races
HV: Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology
JS: Local government. Municipal government
NA: Architecture
RA: Public aspects of medicine
TD: Environmental technology. Sanitary engineering

Please view the tutorial on how to find books, or stop by the 4th floor Reference desk if you need additional help.

Urban Planning and Community Development