Urban Planning and Community Development

The city of Boston's open data portal - includes datasets, tips for users, and more

"The Boston Data Portal makes publicly available the data products from BARI projects. The Data Portal is a key part of BARI’s efforts to collect and disseminate information that foster policy/research collaborations.

The Data Portal has two components: the Boston Data Library and BostonMap."

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics website has employment, unemployment, employment projections data and more. Select your data and then choose to view it in either comma or tab delimited format to export into a spreadsheet.

The Yearbook of Immigration Statistics is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration law enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions,

"By collecting and analyzing data from a variety of government and private sources, we're able to create detailed, informative profiles for every city in the United States. From crime rates to weather patterns, you’ll find the data you're looking for on City-Data.com."

"To promote the use of open data in cities across the United States, the National League of Cities (NLC) has partnered with Socrata to launch an open data portal. The portal provides a comprehensive list of cities utilizing open data and highlights particular data sets by category, as well as relevant NLC research. The portal is geared towards cities at any stage of the open data process; cities without open data portals can gain an overview of how other cities are using data, while cities with established portals can find examples of particular datasets from other cities that would be useful to emulate. As this portal is designed to be a tool for cities, we seek to engage with cities on this issue and welcome feedback. We hope that this site will be a valuable resource for cities to explore, view, and download data from cities across the country and facilitate improved governance in the 21st century."

"This data source guide is a reference tool describing data important to workforce professionals. We created the guide because multiple federal and state organizations provide data relevant to workforce professionals; and skillful data use requires understanding:

the sources of data
how often it is collected, for what years it is available, and a link to the data release dates
the geographic level of analysis (state, county, etc.)
the variables included in the data
how to access and use the data"

"The SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs."

"In order to improve availability of transportation-related data, The Transport Politic provides interactive charts and tables, updated as frequently as possible, with data documenting trends in U.S. related to travel. Sources and date of last update are noted for each."

The Caselaw Access Project (“CAP”) expands public access to U.S. law. Our goal is to make all published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online, in a consistent format, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law Library.

CAP includes all official, book-published United States case law — every volume designated as an official report of decisions by a court within the United States. Our scope includes all state courts, federal courts, and territorial courts for American Samoa, Dakota Territory, Guam, Native American Courts, Navajo Nation, and the Northern Mariana Islands. Our earliest case is from 1658, and our most recent cases are from 2018.

Contains data for Boston, Lowell, Lynn, Providence R.I. and Worcester.