Research Guides: Urban Planning and Community Development: Find Videos

Video Databases

Find videos through UMBrella using the Advanced Search and selecting Audio Visual under Material Type.

Alexander Street Press Streaming Video Collection This link opens in a new window
The video cross-search interface lets you search all the Alexander Street video in your library.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your library research guides, content management systems, online lesson plans, or distance.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive This link opens in a new window
Free online database that archives films and film criticism.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Online educational videos

Contains Media Education Foundation collection which produces and distributes documentary films and other educational resources to inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media.

Most Kanopy videos can be viewed immediately. However, for titles with preview-only access, you will need to submit a request via Kanopy for the Library to obtain a license.

Access Tip: If a video does not play and there are no messages indicating that the university lacks access, please try using a different browser.
Desktop/Laptop Instructions: Once you arrive at the video, look for the Watch Now button and follow the prompts to log in. Click "Skip" on any screens that ask you to create an account. You do NOT need to create an account.
Phone/Tablet Users: You MUST download free Kanopy app (available from App Store and Google Play) AND create an account. Once the account is created and the you are on the app, you should click on "Log In" to log in with your account.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Our SAGE Research Methods access only covers SAGE Research Methods Books & Reference (Core), Cases Part 1, and Datasets Part 1. After you run a search, select the 'Content available to me' option to filter for results with full access.