Research Guides: Accessibility at the Healey Library: Streaming Video

Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press is a streaming video platform that hosts several academic video collections, including: Academic Video Online, Anthropology Online, Counseling and Therapy in Videos, and Filmakers Library Online.

TRANSCRIPTS:

Alexander Street Press videos provide transcripts which are synchronized with the video and will highlight the text spoken as the video plays. It will also, by default, scroll along with the video. To turn off this feature, simply move your mouse into the transcript area and your mouse movements will override the normal scrolling. At any time, you may also click a section within the transcript to skip forward or back within the corresponding video.

The entire transcript is located in the transcript pane, the first of the tabbed panes at center right, or by clicking the "Transcript" icon in the Toolbar at the top of the screen. Transcripts are searchable by keyword if you would like to search for and jump to a particular part of the video.

SUBTITLES:

Some performing arts videos have multilingual subtitles that can be selected by clicking the CC icon in the toolbar beneath the player window. Where only one language is available, clicking this icon will turn the subtitles on or off. Where multiple languages are available, clicking this icon will bring up a menu of available languages. Outside of the performing arts collections, most non-English videos include embedded English subtitles, which cannot be turned off.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online comprises the full content of dozens of video collections and bonus discipline clusters, and grows by 7,000 titles each year. Collections include Counseling and Therapy in Video, Education in Video, Latin America in Video, Theatre in Video; and many more.
Alexander Street Press Streaming Video Collection This link opens in a new window The video cross-search interface lets you search all the Alexander Street video in your library.
Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window Alexander Street Anthropology is a comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Featuring cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections, Alexander Street Anthropology provides Anthropologists, Sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference works.
Thematic areas include: family and race, material culture, language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, marriage, gender, and family roles.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window Counseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collections provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand provides either closed captioning or interactive transcripts for all of its videos on the platform.

CLOSED CAPTIONS

If this option is available, a CC button will appear in the video control panel. Click on this button to toggle captions on and off. You may also create a Films on Demand account and set your personal preferences to always show closed captioning. While most Films on Demand videos contain closed captioning, not all do. You can use the Advanced Search feature and limit your search only to videos that provide captions.

INTERACTIVE TRANSCRIPTS

Interactive Transcripts are also available for many videos. Interactive transcripts allow you to view the full text of the video, search within the full text, or click on any word in the transcript to jump to that exact point in the video. Films on Demand provides instructions for using their interactive transcripts. If you prefer this format for videos, you can use the Advanced Search feature to limit your search only to videos that provide interactive transcripts.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your library research guides, content management systems, online lesson plans, or distance.

Kanopy

Most films on Kanopy provide both closed captioning and interactive transcripts. Closed captioning can be toggled on and off using the "CC" button in the video player controls. Interactive transcripts can be opened by clicking the "Transcript" button immediately beneath the video player. The interactive transcripts highlight or underline the words as they are being spoken in the video. Please see Kanopy's explanation of their closed captioning and interactive transcript features for additional information.

Kanopy offers a Caption Request Tool for any videos that do not currently have captioning, providing any user with the ability to request that a film be captioned, directly from the film page in question. Kanopy promises a rapid turnaround time for all caption requests. Patrons may also use the search filters on the results screen to limit their searches only to videos that already provide captioning.

Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window Online educational videos Contains Media Education Foundation collection which produces and distributes documentary films and other educational resources to inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. Most Kanopy videos can be viewed immediately. However, for titles with preview-only access, you will need to submit a request via Kanopy for the Library to obtain a license. Desktop/Laptop Instructions: Once you arrive at the video, look for the Watch Now button and follow the prompts to log in. Click "Skip" on any screens that ask you to create an account. You do NOT need to create an account. Phone/Tablet Users: You MUST download free Kanopy app (available from App Store and Google Play) AND create an account. Once the account is created and the you are on the app, you should click on "Log In" to log in with your account.