Research Guides: Resources Documenting the Vietnam War: Resources

Archival and Manuscript Collections

Explore all of our archival and manuscript collections that document the Vietnam War. To access collections held outside of UMass Boston, search ArchiveGrid, WorldCat, and the Digital Public Library of America. Search for "Vietnam War" and related keywords.

Digital Collections

Children's Drawings from the AFSC Vietnam Curriculum Project

Doug Clifford Photograph Collection, 1988

Francois Sully Photograph Collection, 1963-1971

Mass. Memories Road Show

Search and browse all of our digital collections.

Books

America's Longest War by George C. Herring
Call Number: DS558 .H45 1986b
ISBN: 0877224196
Publication Date: 1986
The Army and Vietnam by Andrew F. Krepinevich
Call Number: DS558 .K74 1986
ISBN: 0801828635
Publication Date: 1986
The Best and the Brightest by David Halberstam
Call Number: DS557.2.H3 B4
ISBN: 0394461630
Publication Date: 1972
Fire in the lake; the Vietnamese and the Americans in Vietnam by Frances FitzGerald
Call Number: DS558 .F53
Publication Date: 1972
A Rumor of War by Philip Caputo
Call Number: DS559.5 .C36
ISBN: 003017631X
Publication Date: 1977
The things they carried : a work of fiction by Tim O'Brien
Publication Date: 1990
Available online via Ebrary (Access restricted to authorized UMass Boston patrons).
Vietnam : a history by Stanley Karnow
Call Number: DS557.2.K286 V6 1983
ISBN: 0670746045
Publication Date: 1983
We Were Soldiers Once... and Young by Harold G. Moore; Joseph L. Galloway
Call Number: DS557.8.I18 M66 1992
ISBN: 0679411585
Publication Date: 1992

Search the Healey Library's catalog for books about the Vietnam War.

Journals

American Historical Review

American Quarterly

Journal of American History

Journal of American Studies

Journal of Contemporary History

Journal of Interdisciplinary History

Search these journals for "Vietnam War" and related keywords. Search and browse all of the Healey Library's ejournals.

Journal Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete features thousands of full-text journals. This scholarly collection offers unmatched coverage of information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a collection of thousands of high-quality academic journals and ebooks across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The journal archive includes back issues and some current issues.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a comprehensive multidisciplinary research database. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports all together in one platform.

Search and browse all of the Healey Library's Database List.

Newspapers

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Boston Globe (historical + current) 1872-present This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images, except for pre-1993 historical content.
Search the full run of the Boston Globe from one place. Access is from 1872-present. The extensive coverage provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis ®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Mass Media Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
The Mass Media is UMass Boston's student newspaper. This digital collection includes issues of the paper from 1966 through 2011. As the publication is ongoing, the Archives will be working to add issues post-2011 to this collection.
News & Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images.
Search newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Find national and international newspapers, such as The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and The Guardian. These databases also include large collections of local and regional newspapers.
New York Times (1851 - 2020) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images.
The New York Times offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1851. It does not include the current years three years. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Printing: Use Print to fit option

Search and browse all of the Healey Library's newspaper subscriptions.

Videos

Frost/Nixon - The Complete Interviews. War at Home and Abroad
Publication Date: 1977
Available online via Films on Demand (Access restricted to authorized UMass Boston patrons)
Hearts and Minds
Publication Date: 1974
Available online via Kanopy (Access restricted to authorized UMass Boston patrons)
Images of Conflict Photographers In the War Zone
Publication Date: 2009
Available online via Films on Demand (Access restricted to authorized UMass Boston patrons)
Vietnam
Publication Date: 2009
Available online via Kanopy (Access restricted to authorized UMass Boston patrons)
The Vietnam Collection by WGBH
Includes materials used in Vietnam: A Television History (1983).

Search and browse the Healey Library's videos about the Vietnam War.

Video Databases

Search these databases for "Vietnam War" and related keywords.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online comprises the full content of dozens of video collections and bonus discipline clusters, and grows by 7,000 titles each year. Collections include Counseling and Therapy in Video, Education in Video, Latin America in Video, Theatre in Video; and many more.
Alexander Street Press Streaming Video Collection This link opens in a new window
The video cross-search interface lets you search all the Alexander Street video in your library.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that makes it easier than ever to incorporate outstanding educational programs from Films Media Group into your library research guides, content management systems, online lesson plans, or distance.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Online educational videos.

Most Kanopy videos can be viewed immediately. However, for titles with preview-only access, you will need to submit a request via Kanopy for the Library to obtain a license.
Access Tip: If a video does not play and there are no messages indicating that the university lacks access, please try using a different browser.
Desktop/Laptop Instructions: Once you arrive at the video, look for the Watch Now button and follow the prompts to log in. Click "Skip" on any screens that ask you to create an account. You do NOT need to create an account.
Phone/Tablet Users: You MUST download free Kanopy app (available from App Store and Google Play) AND create an account. Once the account is created and the you are on the app, you should click on "Log In" to log in with your account.
Media Education Foundation films will be leaving Kanopy and can be found in the Media Education Foundation database.
WGBH Open Vault This link opens in a new window
Open Vault is the home of WGBH Media Library and Archives, providing online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning. Visitors can become a "member" (free) of Open Vault: to access records and save findings.