Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900
The Britannica Library is a comprehensive encyclopedia covering all subjects. It has brief to in-depth articles, which get updated regularly. Research sources include thousands of curated articles and magazines, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended websites, along with a pop-up Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Credo Reference provides access to a broad variety of reference sources from dictionaries to encyclopedias covering topics from the arts to the sciences. It has an image collection, maps, customizable data, and audio pronunciation files. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.
Ebrary contains the full text of more than 45,000. Ebrary includes a diverse collection of encylopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works. To retrieve them add the word encyclopedia, dictionary or handbook to the search statement.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
The Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. It is the largest reference work ever published for the social and behavioral sciences and will be the first to appear in both print and electronic formats.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Oxford Music Online
Through the Oxford Music Online gateway you can search Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music as a group or individually. Together these works form a comprehensive site where you can find information on composers, musical styles, and major musical works