Research Guides: Dissertations & Theses: Dissertations & Theses

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian
Email us
Research Consultation
To schedule a research consultation, click on the link and log in with your UMB email.
more...less...
Schedule a virtual consultation for in-depth research assistance with a reference librarian
Call 617.287.5940
Text 617.826.9978

Dissertations & Theses

AGRICOLA (Agricultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA describes publications, dissertations and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is a very important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of American Studies. It covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It includes dissertations, book citations and reviews
CINAHL Ultimate (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.

Unlimited users
Doctoral Dissertations and Masters Theses (Scholar Works, University of Massachusetts at Boston) This link opens in a new window
The collection contains open access and campus access dissertations and theses, made possible through Graduate Studies and the University of Massachusetts Boston. The full content of open access dissertations and theses is available to all, although some files may have embargoes placed on them and will be made available as soon as possible. The full content of campus access dissertations and theses is only available to those on the UMass Boston campus.
EconLit with full text This link opens in a new window
The American Economic Association’s Econlit covers all fields of economics and is international in scope. It indexes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers and book reviews from 1969 to the present. Includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collected volumes, books, book reviews, and dissertations
Energy Citations Database This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records for energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a digital library of education research materials sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC is the most comprehensive education database with access to over 1,000 journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts the world’s scholarly literature in history except for the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present. Includes dissertations, book citations and reviews.
Dissertations & Theses: Global Full Text This link opens in a new window
Dissertations & Theses includes dissertations from 1861 to the present from around the world. It has the full text of most dissertations added since 1997 plus the full text of many older dissertations as well.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
An excellent resource for researchers in nursing, community health sciences, communications disorders and other health-related disciplines. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database contains over 250 full text nursing and allied health journals. Full text begins in the early to mid 1990's, but indexing goes back to the early 1980's.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is the major research database in the field of psychology. It covers all areas of psychology as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, technical reports, and dissertations and contains over 2.6 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) provides in depth international coverage of the field of music. It indexes a great variety of materials including articles, books, bibliographies, dissertations, films and videos, concert reviews and recording notes. In order to be included the item must have scholarly value.
SciFinder Discovery Platform This link opens in a new window
This database includes the following:
CAS SciFinder (including ChemZent): The most comprehensive database for the chemical literature. Search not only research, but also chemical substances, reactions, and patents. SciFinder includes features like biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and more.
CAS Analytical Methods: Explore and search methods using criteria like method categories, subcategories, analytes, matrices, and more.
CAS Formulus: Search by Formulations by ingredients, purpose, form function. Includes Formulation Designer, where you can design custom formulation templates based on selections and ingredients.
Tutorials available.
Starting March 3, SciFinder’s login process will be simplified. If you've already logged in before: the first time you log in after the update, you’ll be prompted to enter your email to link your existing SciFinder account with your UMB credentials. Once linked, all your search history, alerts, and saved items will carry over.
Our subscription does not include CAS STNext, CAS Scientific Patent Explorer, and CAS Chemical Compliance Index.

Accounts automatically deactivate after 18 months (previously 12) of inactivity. If you cannot log into your account, please email library.systems@umb.edu.
WorldCat @ UMass Boston This link opens in a new window
Combined online catalog of over 9,000 libraries customized to connect directly to Healey Library holdings & interlibrary loan (ILL).

Getting a Theses

Once you know of a masters' thesis or PhD dissertation you want to read, how do you get a copy?

Typically, masters' theses and PhD dissertations can be found at the college/university library where the graduate student (author) received their degree.

UMass Boston theses are listed in UMBrella. Search the catalog by author, title of thesis, or by typing into the search box exactly this: University of Massachusetts at Boston Theses.

For non-UMass Boston theses & dissertations, just follow these steps:

See if the full text is available through Dissertations & Theses: Global Full Text

If the thesis/dissertation is affiliated with one of the BLC libraries, search UMass Boston WorldCat and then try requesting a copy.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is often your best bet for theses and dissertations. When requesting one, use the Copy Request form and provide as much information as you can.

Sometimes requesting a thesis/dissertation via ILL is unsuccessful. Usually because it is against policy of the lending library to loan their theses/ dissertations. If that's the case, it is possible to purchase a copy at Dissertations Express.