Skip to main content

Selected Resources Documenting Thompson Island

About Thompson Island

Thompson Island is one of 34 islands in Boston Harbor. The island has a long history of education, agriculture, and industry, and has been home to the Boston Asylum for Indigent Boys (1814-1832), the Boston Farm School (1832-1835), the Boston Asylum and Farm School (1835-1907), the Farm and Trades School (1907-1955), and Thompson's Academy (1955-1975). The Joseph P. Healey Library holds the records of these schools in its University Archives and Special Collections department. Please contact library.archives@umb.edu to schedule a research appointment.

Learn about the differences between primary and secondary sources here.

Archival and Manuscript Collections

Thompson Island collection, 1814-1990, bulk 1814-1977

WUMB-FM records, 1969-2012

Explore all of our archival and manuscript collections that document Thompson Island. To access collections held outside of UMass Boston, search ArchiveGridWorldCat, and the Digital Public Library of America. Search for "Thompson Island," "Thompson's Island," and related keywords.

Digitized Publications

Alumni Association of The Farm and Trades School, Anniversary Field Day Programme and Addresses, Thompson's Island, Boston Mass., June 17, 1914

Alumni Association of The Farm and Trades School, Constitution and By-Laws, Adopted November 18, 1922

Annual Report of the Headmaster, The Farm and Trades School

Catalogue of Books in Library at Boston Farm-School, Thompson's Island

Catalogue of the Farm School Library, Thompson's Island, Boston, Mass.

Charter and Amendments and Other Special Acts Relating to the Farm and Trades School and By-Laws

Course in Agriculture, Farm School, Thompson's Island, Boston, Massachusetts

The Farm and Trades School, 1814-1914

The Farm and Trades School, Course of Study, 1924-25, One Hundred and Tenth Year

The Farm and Trades School, Thompson's Island, 53 Songs We Sing

The Farm and Trades School, Thompson's Island, Boston, Mass.

The Farm and Trades School, Thompson's Island, Boston, Mass., One Hundred and Sixteenth Year

The Farm and Trades School Revisited

In Memorium, Henry Clay Whitcomb, Read Before the Franklin Typographical Society, September 3, 1914

One Hundredth Anniversary, The Farm and Trades School, 1814-1914

The Organization and Management of Trade Schools

Regulations and Course of Study of the Farm School, Thompson's Island, Boston, Mass.

Specimen of Type Faces

Thompson's Island and the Farm and Trades School: A brief history of the island and the Farm and Trades School

A Unique School

These publications were digitized from the Healey Library's Thompson Island collection. Search the Internet Archive for other digitized publications about Thompson Island.

Articles

Posey, Trisha. “‘Little Tanned Agriculturalists’: The Boston Asylum and Farm School for Indigent Boys.” Massachusetts Historical Review, vol. 16, 2014, pp. 49–72., www.jstor.org/stable/10.5224/masshistrevi.16.1.0049.

Storch, Susan E. “Diplomatics: Modern Archival Method or Medieval Artifact.” The American Archivist, vol. 61, no. 2, 1998, pp. 365–383., www.jstor.org/stable/40294092.

Search the Healey Library's databases for articles about Thompson Island. Popular databases include Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, and ProQuest Central.

Books

These books include a number of texts on orphanages and poverty in America. While the schools on Thompson Island were not orphanages and students were not necessarily orphaned (nor were they delinquent), these sources provide context for decisions that families had to make to sign away guardianship of their sons in order to gain the benefits of a Thompson Island education. Search the Healey Library's catalog for books about Thompson Island.

Reports

Search the Healey Library's catalog or WorldCat for reports about Thompson Island.

Scholarly Works

Search the Healey Library's catalogScholarWorks, or WorldCat for dissertations, theses, and other scholarly works about Thompson Island.

Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900