This is the "Home" page of the "ebooks and ereaders" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ebooks and ereaders  

Last Updated: Jan 31, 2014 URL: http://umb.libguides.com/ereaders Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Links

 

How to Cite an eBook

 

ebooks@Healey

 

Ebook databases and devices functionality

Databases Kindle NOOK iPad Computer
ebrary
   PDF/chap. yes yes yes yes
   Full-text e-book no yes yes yes
EBSCO eBook Collection
   PDF/chap. yes yes yes yes
   Full-text e-book no no no no
APA E-Book collection
   PDF/chap. yes yes yes yes
Books 24x7
   PDF/chap. * yes yes yes yes
EBL (EBook Library)
PDF/chap. yes yes yes yes
Full-text e-book no yes yes yes

 

Things to remember when using ebooks from the Healey Library eBook Collections

  • For most databases, you will need to download Adobe Digital Editions to view the ebook on a computer or to download the e-book to your mobile device after saving to your computer. (See top left-hand box.)
  • For the iPad, download the free app BlueFire Reader to use in ebrarand EBL. (See top left-hand box.)
  • Most of the ebook collections only offer PDF or individual chapter downloading.
  • The older versions of Kindle are not supported by ebrary, e-book downloads for chapters or page ranges are only available in PDF.
  • Kindle Fire is now supported by ebrary by following these steps.
  • ebrary, EBSCO eBook Collection and EBL require creating a user account to save annotations and highlighting from individual titles.
  • Transferring a downloaded e-book to an iOS device from ebrary or EBL is fast and easy. When Adobe Digital Editions opens, plug mobile device to computer via USB drive.  Once the device is recognized by Adobe, just drag and drop the ebook to the mobile device.

 

 

 

Select ebook Collections at Healey Library

ebrary logo   

EBSCO eBook Collection

  • Download Options: PDF
  • PDF of chapters and page ranges: 60 pages maximum
  • Full-text e-book available to read online, no download option
  • Software needed: Adobe Digital Editions, BlueFire Reader app for the iPad
  • Create a user account

APA logo

APA Books E-Collection

  • Download options: PDF
  • PDF of chapters and page ranges: Individual chapters
  • Software needed: Adobe Acrobat Reader

Books 24x7

  • Download options: PDF
  • * PDF for chapters and page ranges: Limited selection of book chapters
  • If PDF available patron will see dropdown arrow

         

Joseph P. Healey Library
University of Massachusetts Boston
100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip