Skip to main content

Devices and ereaders

About this guide

This guide is designed to answer specific questions on our ebook databases and device operability. Such as, "How will my iPad function with Healey ebook collections?  Can I download an ebook or PDF chapters?"

Each tab will provide step-by-step instructions on viewing, downloading PDF or full-text, printing, annotations and software needed for specific devices.

Searching for ebooks

There are three places to search for ebooks

UMBrella

UMBrella is one of the best places to search for ebooks. You can search for ebooks by title, author, subject or keyword.

Start your searches for only ebooks by choosing from a selection of filters including Availability, Material Type and Publication Date.

Availability - Limit to Full Text Online - Limits to items that are accessible online

Material Type - Limit to Books

Publication Date - Useful in finding ebooks in specific date ranges

Your searches will include the active filters. Choose Reset filters to start a new search.


EBook Collections

 You can search the library ebook collections individually. The largest ebook collection is Ebook Central and it covers many subjects.


Searching For Ebooks With Worldcat

It can be difficult to connect to eBooks from WorldCat. Here are the steps to access eBooks from WorldCat@UMass-Boston.

1. Search for your title and choose the entry that is listed as eBook.

2. On the left hand side, there's a column with options to limit your search to just UMass Boston Library and eBooks. 


3. Once you find the eBook title you're looking for, just click on the View eBook link which will take you directly to the book. 

E-book Databases Checklist

Databases PDF format  Download  Chapters Download  E-book Printing Loan period Option to return ebook early after downloading Access to ebook when in use by other users Retain Notes in  accounts
Ebook Central yes yes yes print range will vary according to individual ebook Ebook Central has two loan periods: 7 day or 14 day loan From Adobe Digital Editions, the option does exist to return the ebook early

Ebook Central, makes it possible for other users to read and make notes on the ebook that has downloaded.  Exceptions apply only to titles with limited availability (one user- one copy)

To add notes or highlight text from an ebook, open your account and make the annotations and highlights.  The notes are saved to your Bookshelf account.
EBSCO eBook Collection yes yes yes print range will vary according to individual ebook EBSCO loan periods vary according to individual ebook titles From Adobe Digital Editions you can return a title early. Be sure to be in the Library view, right click on the title to return the book. EBSCO, makes it possible for other users to read and make notes on the ebook that has downloaded.  Exceptions apply only to titles with limited availability (one user- one copy) In your EBSCO account you can add notes to the ebook.  The notes are then accessible from the Folder tab.

American Psychiatric Association DSM Premium

no no no no N/A N/A N/A N/A
APA E-book Collection yes yes no yes N/A N/A N/A N/A
Skillsoft Books (formerly Books 24x7) yes yes yes yes N/A N/A yes yes
Cambridge Collections Online yes yes no yes N/A N/A N/A N/A
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online yes yes no yes N/A N/A N/A N/A
Credo Reference yes individual entries no individual entries N/A N/A N/A N/A
Early English Books Online (EEBO) yes download current page only as PDF or TIFF file no current page N/A N/A N/A N/A
Eighteenth Century Collections Online yes single page, multiple pages or entire books (limit 250 pages) yes when available (limit 250 pages) yes N/A N/A N/A N/A
IMF eLibrary yes yes no yes N/A N/A N/A N/A
JSTOR yes yes no yes N/A N/A N/A N/A
Knowledge Unlatched yes no yes yes N/A N/A N/A N/A
Loeb Classical Library no no no yes, selections N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sage Knowledge yes yes no yes N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sage Research Methods no yes no yes N/A N/A N/A N/A
Springer Ebook Collection yes yes yes yes N/A N/A N/A N/A
World Bank eLibrary yes yes yes yes N/A N/A N/A N/A
Healey Library | University of Massachusetts Boston | 100 Morrissey Blvd | Boston, MA | 02125-3393 | 617-287-5900