Research Guides: Databases for Pre K-12 Educators and Students: Home

CRC Resources

Librarian

he/him

Email Me

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Applied Linguistics, Classics, Education, History, Performing Arts, Philosophy & Religion, Women & Gender Studies

Healey Library Statement on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Healey Library Statement on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

The Healey Library is committed to taking action and making changes as we identify them in order to improve the working and studying environment.

Anti-Racism Guide
Information and resources for the UMass Boston community

Library Databases for PreK-12 Educators

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a digital library of education research materials sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC is the most comprehensive education database with access to over 1,000 journals.
Preview New User Interface
PsycINFO
PsycINFO is an excellent database for researching topics in early childhood and special education.
EBSCOhost Education Databases
For teachers and students. Includes: ERIC, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Primary Search, Teacher Reference Center, MAS Ultra - School Edition
ProQuest Education Database
Access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Teacher Reference Center
Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
Preview New User Interface

Public Databases for PreK-12 Educators

ERIC (Public)
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a digital library of education research materials sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. It indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, conference papers, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
Research Connections in Child Care & Early Education
Research on child care and early education and related policies. The collection examines the child care and early education experiences of children birth through age 8. The collection includes original research, syntheses, fact sheets and briefs, datasets, instruments, and other research-related resources from the wide range of social science disciplines and professional fields that study early care and education.

What Works Clearinghouse: Reviewed Studies
Reviews of research on the different programs, products, practices, and policies in education.

Databases for K-12 Students

These databases are provided by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners and the Massachusetts Library System with state funds and federal IMLS funds.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
High School
The Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia covers a wide array of subjects and includes brief biographies as well as images.
Global Issues in Context
High School
Perspectives on international news and events that provides in one resource a multitude of ways to stay up-to-date with economic, environmental, health, military, political, and social global issues.

Research in Context
Middle School
Research In Context is cross-disciplinary in nature—spanning literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history.
Kids InfoBits
Elementary
Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Literature Resource Center
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Preview New User Interface

Primary Search
Elementary
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).

Science (Gale In Context)
Science (Gale In Context) is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science In Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration.

Student Edition
High School
It focuses on the core curriculum: history, literature, science, and social studies. With one search students will find information in reference works, magazines, newspapers, primary sources, and a variety of multimedia resources. It has the Lexile reading levels for journal and magazine articles.

Vocations & Careers Collection
Finding the right career can be a daunting and high stakes task: finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career are all topics covered by this collection, providing current and applicable content for all vocational milestones. Offering content from nearly 400 journals, this collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.