Reference Sources - SPAN 160G: Exile: The Latin American Experience - Kebadze - Research Guides at University of Massachusetts Boston

About Reference Sources

Considered academic alternatives to Google & Wikipedia, reference works such as encyclopedias, handbooks are a good place to find background information on a topic, or to quickly look up a fact. They often include bibliographies leading you to additional, relevant information.

Books

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner (Editor); Erick Detlef Langer
ISBN: 9780684315904
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Print and ebook editions

E-Reference I

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Biography (Gale in Context) delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. In it you’ll find: 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals.

Search by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, gender birth/death year, and/or birth/death place

Includes lengthy biographies and brief biographical sketches from respected reference sources and newspaper and magazine articles

Britannica Library This link opens in a new window
The Britannica Library is a comprehensive encyclopedia covering all subjects. It has brief to in-depth articles, which get updated regularly. Research sources include thousands of curated articles and magazines, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended websites, along with a pop-up Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a broad variety of reference sources from dictionaries to encyclopedias covering topics from the arts to the sciences. It has an image collection, maps, customizable data, and audio pronunciation files. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
The Gale Virtual Reference collection includes general reference resources as well as titles in the arts, biography, business, education, the environment, history, information and publishing, law, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and the social sciences. You can search the whole collection or a specific subject area.

E-Reference II

Following are freely available e-reference sources:

CIA World Factbook
National-level information on countries, territories, and dependencies
Library of Congress Country Studies
presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.