Current Newspapers - SPAN 160G: Exile: The Latin American Experience - Kebadze - Research Guides at University of Massachusetts Boston

Current Newspapers Online

There are numerous other current newspapers available. Search UMBrella's new Journal Finder by title to find which database contains the newspaper.

Boston Globe (current) 1980-present This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images.
Full text coverage of the newspaper.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times, one of the world’s leading business news organisations, is recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. Providing essential news, comment, data and analysis for the global business community. Whether you're on or off-campus, you will be prompted to sign in with your UMB email.

Mobile app available from App Store and Google Play. Once you type in your @umb email in the Sign In field, a "Sign in via UMASS Boston" button will appear and prompt you to log in with your UMass Boston login.
New York Times 1985-present (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images.
The full text of the New York Times (print newspaper, national edition) from 1985 to the present
Only articles that appear in the print newspaper will be available. Articles printed only on the nytimes.com site will not be available. For those articles, please use visit the News and Newspaper Search from Proquest or visit nytimes.com (after creating an account via accessnyt.com first)
Wall Street Journal (1984 - Present) This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images. Full text coverage of the newspaper.
Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) Subscription This link opens in a new window
This subscription allows you to simply go to wsj.com and log in using an individual account. Get access to the most up-to-date articles and the WSJ newsletters. You can download the print edition from the most recent 90 days.

How to get an account: 1. Go to the UMass Boston WSJ link. 2. You will be prompted to sign in through the UMass Boston sign-in screens. 3. Then, you will be taken to a form to create an individual account. Please create the account using a new, unique password instead of your UMB password.

Mobile app available from App Store and Google Play.

Current Newspaper Collections

These newspaper collections cover dates ranging from 1980 to present. Check individual collection and newspapers for exact dates.

Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere.

Canadian Newsstream
This database offers unparalleled access to the full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers. This full text database includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.
International Newsstream
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis ®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
News & Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Text-only articles. No images.
Search newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites. Find national and international newspapers, such as The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and The Guardian. These databases also include large collections of local and regional newspapers.

Finding Newspapers

To find out if Healey Library has a newspaper, search the name of the newspaper in Journal Finder.

If you can't find the newspaper, you can request articles from InterLibrary Loan.